American Heathenry Strikes Again >_<

So about ten minutes ago I just found out about this: Icelandic Asatrufelagid receiving hate mail. YOu know who they’re receiving hate mail from? American Heathens. Yes, you read that correctly. American Heathens are sending hate mail to the Icelandic Asatru association, the one that’s building a Heathen temple, because they’re not anti-gay.

WHAT THE FUCK IS WRONG WITH YOU PEOPLE?

and by ‘you people,’ i mean the American Heathens who can’t get their heads out of their collective asses long enough to *think*. I know American Heathenry is massively fucked up but this really takes the cake. Apparently, our community can’t comprehend the fact that fundamentalist Christian “morality” has no place in Heathenry. When I talk about how ashamed I am of American Heathenry, it’s shit like this to which I am referring (this and the hostility toward devotion, the lack of reverence for the Gods, and the ongoing attempts to cull anything approaching Mystery out of the religion).

As a result, the Icelandic organization is seriously considering whether or not to limit access to the temple for foreign Heathens and frankly, I don’t blame them. This is why we can’t have nice things, folks. American Heathenry: a morass of shit and in good old american exceptionalist fashion, we’re trying to export it. Doesn’t it just make you proud? *sarcasm*.

Posted on July 15, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 24 Comments.

  1. Deplorable. And every other synonym I can think of that goes with it.

    Like

  2. People wonder why folks like you or I get outspoken in regards to American Heathenry, and you nailed it. Bullshit like this.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Well said. I absolutely agree. That’s why I usually don’t last on Facebook heathen groups for more than a couple of weeks.

    Like

  4. Galina, have you seen Irminsul Kindred’s response to this? https://www.facebook.com/events/606210702815148/. Also my write up here: https://thegoldthread.wordpress.com/2015/07/15/asatru-is-not-a-vehicle-for-romanticized-machismo-westandwithiceland/. It sucks and is sad but I hope we’re able to convey to the Iceland Asatru folks that we’re not all racist asshats.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I just saw that myself…and wondered what your response would be.

    Fair play to them for doing the right thing and for standing firm in their tradition on this issue; and fuck the idiots who think it is their right to tell them otherwise. May they be Fenris-fodder, and sooner rather than later.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. I hope the Iceland Temple restricts access – better to restrict contagion than be in perpetual cleansing mode.

    What hubris ‘..foreign groups who intend to visit to temple to consecrate it in their own manner, to “correct” what those groups see as the incorrect tolerance of Icelanders.’ Who do these haters think they are to dictate to a sovereign nation what is acceptable?

    Liked by 2 people

  7. Grrrr

    I want to write them, apologize, and *thank* them for what they’ve done, and will keep doing. I am to sad and angry right now to compose something though

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Too*

    Darm fingers going too fast

    Like

  9. I am heart sickened by this.

    Like

  10. Very sorry and sad to read this. I wonder if there is a way to tell the Icelandic folk we’re all not idiots and we support them.

    Like

  11. I have great admiration for the tolerance levels of my American friends when it comes to the skewed “fundamentalist Christian “morality””. I just cannot contemplate the type of extremism that these people spout. Really it doesn’t belong anywhere.

    Like

  12. It seems to me there is a lot of Christian thought processes in American Heathenry. Part of the problem here is just about everything in America is dipped in Christianity, even on the money it says “In God We Trust”. Now this is absolutely no excuse, they have full control over what they do and say. I just find it funny that so many of them make fun of Christians for being sheep, yet they still believe a lot of the same stuff, a sheep in wolf’s clothing if you will.

    It really makes me sad that they may limit access to foreign heathens because of these morons.

    Like

  13. When so many American Heathens obsess over ‘doing things how the ancestors did them’ it never ceases to shock me how little they really know of how the ancestors viewed the world.

    Like

  14. A lot of them are sending hate mail because of ergi and bog drownings of homosexual people (Honestly, I haven’t looked into that much). Just because our ancestors do something doesn’t mean it is the right thing to do. They were human and fallible. Ancient Kemetic religion looked down upon male and male sex but the modern revival of it has open arms to lgbtq.

    Like

  15. That’s absolutely repulsive. Kudos for the fine Heathen folk in Iceland.

    Like

  16. Oh dear….This seems to be an increasingly common issue with (a few) diasporic practitioners of indigenous polytheist/ pagan/ heathen faiths (most I have met are lovely)

    I have had a few over the years lecture me on why I am not ‘doing it right’ (my family are Scots practitioners of faerii faith and have been for a number of generations, and still live here in UK and Eire) After several polite attempts at explaining now I just switch to Gaelige…if they are encultured enough to our ways to debate it with me in our language then they have a right to lecture me. 😉 and I would happily learn from them to boot 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  17. This really embarrasses me.

    Like

  18. I thought the *exact* same thing, when I saw “foreign practitioners” were sending hate mail. Come on, say it like it is! By “foreign practitioners,” you mean “Americans.” We all know it’s true.

    Like

