For my Ancestors

Check out my new tattoo. This is a piece to honor my collective dead. It’s an image of death resting and whimsically blowing bubbles. the bubbles symbolize the fragility of human life. The whole thing is taken from a bit of 17th century molding from a hospital in Bamberg Germany.

death on my leg

Posted on August 28, 2015, in Ancestor Work, photos and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Very cool! I really like it.

    Like

  2. Absolutely gorgeous! And how apt, too.

    Like

  3. Exquisite on so many levels! I love a good Memento Mori. 🙂

    Like

  4. Beautiful! I like the idea of the bubbles being a metaphor for the fragility of life as well.

    Like

  5. I like the shovel set nearby while he/she is blowing the bubbles.

    Like

  6. This is great! I remember when I was studying Mediaeval Art as an undergraduate that Bamberg Cathedral had the most humorous sculptures on it. The main piece over the entry way was a last judgment and the artist portrayed the condemned in absolute hilarity. I love it!

    Like

  7. This is great! Love the symbolism of the bubbles.

    Like

  8. Stunning work, Galina!!! A lovely reminder and way to honor the dead.

    Like

