Pilgrimage book?

So i’ve decided to do a book on making a pilgrimage. I’ll include quite a bit of my ‘accidental pilgrim’ posts, and more…..but i want to hear from you, my readers. What questions do you have (both spiritual and practical) about the process of doing a pilgrimage? I’ve done four of them, and i’m planning a fifth, the majority of them for my ancestors and each time i’ve learned things both important and unexpected. Whereas there was a tradition of the sacred journey in both polytheist and the christian worlds, we don’t really have that in our western, secular culture anymore. There’s not a lot out there on how to get started and how to do this right. So please, share your questions with me here, or email me at krasskova at gmail.com. Let me know what you would like to see covered in this book.

Posted on September 14, 2015, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Maybe some discussion of accidental and planned pilgrimages- their differences and similarities, etc.? Ditto for planned pilgrimages where the itinerary is established by history and tradition as distinct from ones where the itinerary is decided by spirits, divination, circumstances, etc.

    I’d also be interested in hearing more about pilgrimages in the pre- and non-Abrahamic world… in the West at least, the term itself has a strong association with the Abrahamic religious tradition…

    Like

  2. Please include explanations of the different types of journeys – e.g. pilgrimage versus vision quest versus a ‘dark night of the Soul’ experience that involves moving to a new location/city.

    Please include a section on physical and metaphysical supports for the journey – donations of time, money, prayers – that people who stay at home can offer those called to the pilgrimage.

    Please include a discussion of the different Gods-Goddesses-Wights of the Journey. You mentioned Hermes as your patron when you traveled. Why Hermes and not Freyr or Odin? Does it ‘flavor’ the experience to call upon Hermes versus Freyr versus Odin versus another God-Goddess-Wight of the Journey?

    Please include a discussion of offerings along the Journey route – what is acceptable should be communicated by the Patron Spirits, but what about the laws in the locations where you are travelling?

    Please include a discussion of the practical matters involved in the Journey – comfortable shoes, warm clothing, layered outfits, walking stick, over-the-counter meds, a Travelling Companion – someone not on the Journey per se but there to make sure you don’t pull the ‘Fool’ card and walk too close to a cliff-edge (it sounds like MAG did well on your recent Pilgrimage).

    Like

  3. Is the Pilgrimage for Ancestors, Gods or both? If making a pilgrimage for the Gods, should one avoid making a pilgrimage to the Gods if the nation the Gods belong to is currently dangerous (IE Egypt, Iran, Israel (Canaanite),etc.). An example is that recently a tour bus in Egypt was shot up by the Egyptian Army who were claiming they were chasing terrorists.

    Like

  4. I would like to know how a person should prepare for a pilgrimage (e.g. should a person do a purification ritual before the pilgrimage? Should a person fast or abstain from certain foods? Should divination be done to determine what sites the Gods want us to see? etc.) Also, please include any advice for lay people (i.e. those of us who can’t hear the Gods) One day I would like to travel to Greece to do a pilgrimage, so your book would be very useful to me! 🙂

    Like

  5. I am wondering what makes a trip a pilgrimage vs. just a trip where spiritual life happens? I did consider my trip to Gamla Uppsala a pilgrimage, but not for any formal reason. It was simply that my motivation for going there was that it was related to my Gods, and the word for that seemed to be “Pilgrimage”. Do you believe there’s more to it a planned pilgrimage than just “I’m taking this trip because Gods/Spirits/Religion”?

    -E-

    Like

    • Good question Ember. Years ago a friend was taking vacation in the US Southwest. She asked if that constituted a Vision Quest because she intended to do some camping. I tried to convince her that if you call it vacation, don’t call it Vision Quest. You may experience something mystical out there, but you are not setting aside time and resources to engage with Mystery.

      When I was a Nichiren Shoshu Buddhist, we were taught the Gosho (Teaching) ‘Letter to Senichi Ama (no doubt misspelled after all these years). A respected lady (perhaps a nun – memory fails) was vacationing at a well known hot spring near Nichiren’s hermitage. She asked to visit him while she was in the area. His answer was No. If you come to visit me, then visit me – don’t make me a side-trip on your holiday. His point was that it was very disrespectful to do so.

      Like

      • That wouldn’t have worked for me, because my opportunity to go at all was tied to my Mom’s desire for a vacation. Deliberation of intent aside, it’s a privilege to have gone at all, and I would not have been able to go if I had insisted on my religious focus being the entire trip. -E-

        Like

