Available for Pre-Order: Ossuary Calendars “Walking the Bone White Road”

My autumn project, calendars featuring images from my ancestor pilgrimage, is almost ready to go to print so I am taking pre-orders for this item. I will be donating 60% of the proceeds (i’m keeping enough to make up what I will have to spend for printing only) to charity. I’ve chosen the Doe Network. This project, run largely by volunteers, is dedicated to putting names to unknown dead, and returning them to their families. That seems a particularly fitting cause for my project to support.

Several people emailed me with suggestions for charities and they were all really good ones, so this decision was difficult (I’ve donated to some of the other charities suggested out of pocket) but the Doe Network seems particularly relevant and I got a very, very strong feeling about it from my ancestors. I can’t help but remember an experience I had on my very first pilgrimage, when I went to a handful of Civil War Battlefields. I started at Gettysburg and worked my way down to the Confederate Cemetery in Richmond. As I was tramping around the latter cemetery, I came across the grave of a solder —name unknown—who had died at the battle of seven pines. I reached out and made special offerings to this young man and got blasted with such pain and frustration and anger. he wanted his mother to know where he was buried. He wanted descendants to be able to visit. he wanted his name known. he didn’t want to have been condemned to obscurity. there was a world of anguish there, more than I had the skill to sort out as an ancestor worker. I made offerings and took a photo of the grave (actually, my friend MAG took the photo, but she gave me a copy for my shrine). I promised this poor young man that he would be venerated on my military shrine as a representative for all the unknown soldiers in the world, that this was the best I could do. I’ve never forgotten, however, the raw pain of this spirit at having been buried unknown, his grave unmarked by any name. It brought home to me the importance of bringing our dead home, and of doing all we can to find their names, and tell their stories.

For those who are interested in purchasing a copy of this calendar, please contact me at krasskova@gmail.com. (eventually, once i have the calendar in hand, I will post a listing at etsy.com, but i want to wait until it’s actually printed and in my hand).

2016 Ossuary Calendar
Cost: $12 +5 shipping and handling
Size: 5.5×8.5
Full color

The equinoxes, solstices, and monthly ancestor feast days (drawn from numerous traditions) are listed on the calendar. I decided NOT to list specific sancti as I wanted this to be a useful thing for polytheists of all traditions, and that got tremendously cumbersome and confusing very quickly. Moon phases will also be noted.

I am printing a finite amount of these. There will be *one* printing and I do not plan to reprint so if you’re interested in these, best to order sooner rather than later! Each calendar will be sent out with a small gift included as a thank you.

Posted on September 20, 2015, in Ancestor Work, Polytheism and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

