New Post at boneladyblog….check it out.

At my bone blog, I just posted an article about visiting the grave of a local hero (for those of you who wonder what I do on my days off lol). I had a great time and I learned about a truly remarkable and courageous young girl. Check it out.

Ludington episcopal church grunged

Posted on September 29, 2015, in Ancestor Work and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hi Galina,

    It has nothing to do with this post specifically, so I hope you don’t mind me asking:

    Are you familiar with Ida Craddock and her treatise on “Heavenly Bridegrooms”? I’ve always wondered, but keep forgetting to ask…http://www.idacraddock.com/bridegrooms.html

    Also, have you ever written before about people who struggle with being “spiritually deaf” or “spirit-blocked” (to the point of ZERO spiritual solace or affirmation, EVER)? If so, where might I find your writings and if not, would you consider writing about it?

    Best regards.

    Like

    • V. I meant to respond to this sooner but got distracted. My apologies. I’m not familiar with Craddock’s treatise, but I’ve bookmarked it to read later. I don’t think i’ve written about people being completely “spiritually deaf.” One thing I have noticed is that often we expect spiritual insights to come in a specific way –hearing the Gods, or feeling Them, or seeing Them–and while that can happen, often what we’re given is much more subtle. Years ago a friend of mine had spoken with envy about how she wished she had the connection to the Gods that I seemed to her to have. She also called herself tone deaf to the Gods, but i have seen her do art and I looked at her and told her flat out, that’s your spirituality right there, that’s the way They communicate with you, through the inspiration of form and color, line, shape, and design. That is Their blessing and her whole face lit up as she realized that yes, she had experienced something very sacred. that it was in fact her conduit to the Gods. So i mention this only to point out that even if you can’t feel Them in a palpable way, it doesn’t mean that you’re necessarily spiritually tone deaf. It may just mean that you haven’t yet learned to recognize the way that the Gods are interacting with you, the “dialect”, if you will, of the conversation.

      That being said, some people are spiritually deaf. I think there is a thousand times more merit in someone who is, and who still makes offerings, prays, and does all the proper devotional work, than there is for those of us who have the constant reinforcement of feeling or sensing or seeing or hearing the Gods. I’ll think about this topic and write more on it in the future. What I will say for now, is that if you’re truly “spiritually deaf” or “blocked,” with time and ongoing, consistent work, sometimes you can become unblocked. Just like working a muscle, one’s spiritual senses develop over time and with use. And even if one is spiritually blocked, or tone-deaf, it is not a moral failing. there is nothing wrong with you at all. it does not mean that you can’t be a good Pagan or a good Polytheist. I very much believe that you are loved and cherished by the Gods just the same!

      Like

