New Ancestor Bling

I acquired a new thing for my ancestor shrine today. It’s a gorgeous raku fired platter. It’s made by Jennie Chien, a Hudson Valley artist and sculptor who also makes raku fired spirit houses, offering cups, and more. I adore her work. Every once in a blue moon she makes something with skeletons on it. To me, this speaks to our ancestors, especially the ones whose names we’ve forgotten, or whose names we never knew. I can see I’m probably going to have to expand my shrine again… @_@

skull platter

Posted on November 30, 2015, in Ancestor Work, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Gorgeous! By the way the skeleton is sitting, it looks like he is meditating 🙂

    Like

  2. Does she have a website at all? I love that platter and her spirit houses!

    Like

