Another good article from John Beckett

John Beckett wrote an excellent article here. He very plainly states that polytheism equals theism and apparently this is a controversial idea to many of the commenters. Apparently they’ve never looked the word up in the dictionary. *snorts* If you don’t believe in the existence of many Gods, you’re NOT a polytheist. Why this is difficult for some people to comprehend, I’ll never understand. Anyway, the article is really good. Go and read it.

Posted on December 10, 2015, in Polytheism, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I broke the rule I’ve been observing of late–for November and thus far all of December, anyway, until now–of not reading anything on Patheos and not going to that site myself, because of your recommendation.

    Gods before us…the comments.

    That is why I’m done with “Paganism.”

    Liked by 3 people

  2. I read the article. I liked it. I read the comments. Not so much.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. So many of the comment were just…idiotic. There’s no other way to put it.

    Like

  4. I was surprised when someone on my Facebook page notified my of the great umbrage a lot commentators had with regards to Mr. Becketts’ article. I shouldn’t have been of course. Mr. Beckett is making statements about defining things correctly. What is and is not l, and many….too many…in the Pagan community have a problem that kind of talk. Similar with their problems with hierarchy and authority.
    One of the many reasons the devotional polytheist communities have moved more and more away from Neo-Paganism.

    Like

