Thoughtful Article by Tess Dawson

Tess Dawson has written a very thoughtful piece here. In it, she discusses the brouhaha over that Port Townsend couple who live their lives as though they’re in the Victorian period.

I’m glad for this article. I’ve been following some of the backlash against the Chrismans (up to and including assault on Sarah Chrisman’s person) and finding it more and more disturbing. I couldn’t figure out why it was sticking with me so but I think Tess really brings home why this is relevant to us as polytheists.

Posted on December 13, 2015, in Polytheism, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. I kept nodding my head along to this. I may be making a post in response to this, and referencing her post. This was well-written, and as Tess Dawson often does, cuts to the heart of the matter. Thank you!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Port Townsend is just across the water from me…Of all the places to be a neo-Victorian, I’d have thought it would be one of the safest and most welcoming, but sadly (and also angrily), no…

    Sarah’s experiences reminded me a lot of what I experienced at the World Parliament of Religions, including people coming up and feeling parts of my clothes or other things I had without permission or even acknowledging that I’m not a mannequin just standing there for demonstration purposes, I’m actually a person and, you know, have feelings and thoughts and also things to do, and if you’re not going to interact with me decently and like a human being, then you probably shouldn’t have any illusions about yourself being all “spiritual” because you’ve had the time and money to come to this gathering for a few days.

    Liked by 1 person

    • oh, PSVL, i’m so sorry you’ve had these experiences. We should be better than that! Regardless of our religions, we should be fucking better than treating someone like an object to be pawed.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thank you.

        Sadly, that was one of the “less-severe” forms of disrespect I endured at the WPR. The people doing that to me would have never done it to any of the First Nations people there, or the Hindus or Buddhists or Sikhs (etc.), and yet because I’m white (and they were white), I suspect they assumed they were somehow “allowed to” for some stupid reason, amongst various other very flawed assumptions I saw in operation there throughout my experience of it.

        Like

  3. Tess’s way with words always impresses me. In my mind, what responsible adults do with their lifestyle choices is their business, with obvious (safe/sane/consensual) filters applied. You’d think it would be common sense, live and let live. It’s not. And people can be so hostile to anyone who doesn’t conform to their ideas. (Try telling some people in the pagan circle you follow Mik’hail as his own god. Or even worse, someone who’s Christian. I’ve learned that for my own safety, sometimes it’s better to just be quiet about these sorts of things).

    Like

  4. i’m afraid my google-fu is weak. can you point to links about this assault and stuff? I think I might like to do a post or something.

    Like

    • sorry. i have over a hundred papers to grade before next week. I don’t have time to research this again. The couple talks about it on their website and in their books, various interviews. def. their website.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Click on the link to Tess’ article, and then in that, click on the link to the modern Victorians. Pretty simple, really.

      Like

