Knockout Wassail

To all my friends in the UK: wow. Y’all really do not skimp on punches (of the drinkable variety) and wassails that pack a wallop. Tonight I had friends over and made a wassail recipe that came with a small recipe book I recently received from Fortnum and Mason (it came as a gift along with a ton of tea I recently ordered). It’s supposedly a traditional English recipe. It was so strong I was tipsy just from the fumes while cooking it! LOL. 

I altered the recipe a bit (in favor of more booze, largely because I wasn’t up to doing conversions from milliliters to cups) and since I’ve had several requests tonight, I decided to share it with you here.

two large bottles of dry English cider.
200ML dark rum (I bought a big bottle of dark rum and put it all in because fuck it, rum).
half a cup of sugar (100 grams). I doubled this.
one bar of dark chocolate. I put in two bars of ghirardelli semi-sweet.
2 vanilla pods split
1 Tablespoon of pink peppercorns
4 star anise
2 sticks of cinnamon – I used three.
2 teaspoons of cardamom pods
2 teaspoons of cloves
1 orange and 1 lemon zest expressed.

Serves ten people.

  1. Put the cider and the spices (in a mulling ball) and cinnamon sticks in a pot and bring to a boil.
  2. Once it comes to a boil, add the sugar, rum, vanilla, zests and simmer for 15 minutes.
  3. Remove from heat and break up the chocolate. whisk it in until it’s melted and thick and dark.

Drink.

Happy Yule, everyone. 

Posted on December 25, 2015, in community, Heathenry, Holy Tides, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Have you heard the album “Sing the Sun’s Return” yet? Not only does it have lovely arrangements of several popular wassails, it’s also got a jolly song about Old One-Eye that you might like.

    Like

  2. Sounds very tasty! It’s interesting there is chocolate in it too. I’ll have to try it sometime.

    Like

  3. In the southwest UK we take the wassail out to the apple trees, sing to them and drink/ pour out the drink as an offering to the apple trees so that they will produce more fruit in autumn.

    Like

