More on Heimdall

While I’m doing this push to raise money to finish up the Heimdall card (still need to raise $150), it occurred to me that some of you may not know very much about Him. I know that not all my readers are Northern Tradition. 

A few years ago, before I moved my blog to wordpress, I ran a ‘Deity of the Month’ thing where i would post articles, prayers, poems, etc. about a specific Deity each month and people could contribute to that. I took a hiatus (that i’m still on lol) from doing that, but during the time I ran that series, Heimdall was one of the Deities covered. Here is the main article that I did about Him.  He’s one of those Deities with Whom I wish I had a closer relationship. 

In the meantime also, here is the prayer that’s going on the back of the card:

Prayer to Heimdall

Strength of the Aesir,
Mighty Warder,
Holiest of Powers
I hail You.

Keen Eyed Watchman
poised upon the mighty bridge,
keeping safe those Gods to Whom
You have sworn Your duty,
I honor You.

Nothing may pass You.
Nothing can overcome Your might.
You are the inviolable Power,
You the shining shield
standing between the Gods
and dissolution.

Be Thou ever hailed.

Hail, Warder of Bifrost.
Hail, Heimdall.

********************

Now it’s just a matter of finishing the funding of the card. 🙂

Posted on February 27, 2016, in Heathenry, Prayer cards, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. O.K, so don’t rip me to shreds for this. I am *not* an academic; this is just an idea I had when I was reading Tracing Old Norse Cosmology. But here’s what I wrote about Heimdall if anyone’s curious; http://www.ravensonlinemoot.wordpress.com/2016/02/24/is-heimdall-a-tree

    Like

