Thinking of Mani

I’ve been thinking of Mani a lot the past few days. I have His shrine on the landing of the stairs between the upper and lower floors of my house. It’s expansive, going from eye level to the floor (though almost impossible to photograph given it’s location) and I’m sort of in the process of re-doing the shrine and greatly wishing I had even more room, though I like where it’s positioned overall. I’m waiting for an etsy purchase to arrive: some pretty cotton kimono cloth in deep indigo with fish on it. Once that arrives, I’ll take the entire shrine apart, clean it, and re-arrange everything as well as make more offerings. I can’t wait. In the meantime, I’ve been carrying around my Mani Devotional “Dancing in the House of the Moon”—the book is pocket sized on purpose– and using some of the prayers for contemplation. He has seemed very close of late.

This is one of the pieces in that devotional (p.94-96) and I share it with you now:

The Moon Wears Many Masks

Graceful, courtly, and gallant,
He comes.
He is a dancer,
Keeping time with a thousand jangling strands of beads.
He trips gaily, impeccably, wearing the mask of the fool
But His eyes are sardonic
To those who know enough to look
Beneath the gaiety of His expression.

He hides His face,
Fierce, grief-stricken,
Moaning His anguish
In silence.
His eyes are dark then,
But His people wait
And so He dons a placid mask
To walk among them.
They do not need to see
How feral He once was,
And sometimes still is.

He was a warrior once, the moon.
He danced with two gleaming scimitars
Moving in lethal beauty
Amongst a thousand tribes
The names of which
Not even He recalls.
I have seen Him dancing still
And I know He was not always
So kind.

He moves amongst the Svartalfar
And they adore Him.
He comes with music
And they bring Him camellias
And break things for Him.
It is their way.
Sometimes they get
To hear Him laugh.

His hands are those of a magus
And He orders the heavens
Keeping untangled
The flow of time.
We forget
Of what House He was born,
And Who His kinsfolk are.

Sometimes He feasts
With the wolf that chases Him.
Other times He laughs
And the two take up Their game again.
It is a diversion, for now,
Lest eternity become a bore.

He has chosen His masks carefully
Out of a keen sense of duty.
But the moon was wanton once.
To see this alabaster God cast those masks aside
Is to see a beauty for which ancient kingdoms
Bartered themselves into slavery.

I will say no more on this thing,
Nor on the other masks He wears.
Suffice it to say,
Were I not already owned,
I would be the most desperate supplicant
At His feet.

Hail the Moon,
And every mask he wears,
Especially when He walks amongst us.

mani mask

Hail Mani.

Posted on February 28, 2016, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I love that book, and have used it numerous times while hosting a full moon bonfire blot for Mani ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I can’t get out of my mind one of the last big group rituals we did for Him. I was horsing Him (allowing Him to ride my consciousness for a time) so I don’t recall much, but I couldn’t figure out why i was so incredibly *sore* afterwards.

    Well, there was a reason. During that day we were going to set god poles for Him, Sunna, Sinthgunt, Nott, and Mundilfari—the House of Mundilfari basically. They had been painted and decorated — solid more than man sized lengths of trees sanded and carved for this purpose. Well, apparently when He possessed me, He saw them and wanted to help…and hoisted each log on His shoulders — my shoulders–carrying them in procession to where they were erected. @_@ and apparently He was delighted.

    No wonder i was sore!

    I love Mani. I would love to hear any prayers or about any rituals done for Him – fancy or plain. 🙂 It is a joy to be able to honor Him in all ways great and small.

    and i’m really glad that book has been helpful for you!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I have Got to get that book. This is a Wonderful poem to the god I love the most.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. The bonfires I have held for Mani have not been fancy. There have been 5-8 of us or so. I live in the city, so it’s a small bonfire in a fire pit with camp chairs around it. I have a horn of mead, I put mugwort (that I grow) into the fire. I offer marshmallows and chocolate (usually brachs circus peanuts, and chocolate stars into the fire – there is a reason for those in particular, which I know sounds silly, but, I will explain). I read something, usually from that devotional. I will talk about what moon it is (snow moon? strawberry moon? etc), and then we pass the horn, and share a story of Mani, and/or some face of His. Others will offer things into the fire for Him. There are times that someone may have a petition, but mostly it has been just expressions of appreciation. They are humble, not fancy at all, but heartfelt. They don’t happen *every* full moon through the year, but I do try to host several, even if it is just my spouse and I.

    The reason for the particular candy is a memory I have of when I was a small child, and my grandmother was babysitting me (very rare occurrence), and Mani was *HUGE*, low in the sky, and orange like the circus peanuts we were eating. We were also eating those stars. Every time I see them in a store, I think of Mani, so although it isn’t a fancy offering, it is one with decades of meaning behind it for me, and seeing His face.

    Like

