Choose your words wisely, for they may grow up and change the world. On the marginalization of our religious traditions by Halstead and the dangers therein.

So I indulged in a rather brutal metaphor in my last post (I’m a bit uncomfortable with it myself, but I am going to let it stand for now. It highlights how this polytheist at least feels about having to constantly defend our traditions against people like Halstead. Halstead is one person, but the game he is playing at in showing such blatant disrespect for the boundaries of our traditions is a very old one, one that led once to the destruction of our ways. I’m tired.

Here is another article, by someone far cooler headed than I talking about why words matter.

Wyrd Designs

Ossia Sylva mentioned something in a recent post prompted by the insidious influence of John Halstead writer at Patheos, and now Gods and Radicals who isn’t a pagan, or a polytheist but insists he is, in flagrant denial of the definitions of those words in dictionaries.

image

To me, Halstead is doing the equivalent of walking into a Catholic church and saying, “Okay, so I’m here. I want to be a Catholic, and I want you to call me a Catholic. But since I personally believe that Jesus Christ, God, the Holy Spirit, and the saints are archetypes, I want you to change the liturgy to reflect this ontology, and I want the theists to be totally on-board with this. Oh, and remember to call me a Catholic, because I am a Catholic.” -Ossia Sylva

Not only is this a brilliant analogy, it also can be taken a step further.

View original post 447 more words

Posted on March 18, 2016, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Virginia carper

    Now he is discussing that quote on Facebook, seeking assurances that he is correct and Catholics allow freethinkers. His posse agrees with him. Again, I wish the anti religious would leave us alone. Such intolerance in the name of tolerance. I rather go to a Trump rally, at least there, I know they are intolerant.

    Like

    • ganglerisgrove

      well, tolerance isn’t. You should read “Love the Sin,” by Ann Pellegrini and Janet Jacobson. They deconstruct the notion of ‘tolerance’ as something positive, arguing that it implies a condescending hierarchy: one may extend to revoke tolerance, which right there implies that we are not on equal footing. So to see him using the idea of “free-thinking” and tolerance (whether we want his ideas in polytheism is apparently not relevant. He as a non-polytheist must of course know better *sarcasm* and resistance is futile) as weapons in this fight does not in the least surprise me.

      Like

