Three for Odin

Some nights I just can’t sleep and tonight was one of them. So since i’m reading a book of sonnets by Edna St. Vincent Millay, I decided to look up the sonnet form. I don’t think i’ve ever written one. While checking that out, I came across a modern invention first seen in the mid 1980s: word sonnets. These are small sonnets where instead of 14 lines in a particular rhyme scheme, there are 14 words, each word a single line (–a traditional sonnet typically has 14 lines.). I decided to try my hand at it and it’s more difficult than I thought but I managed three.

I.  

Gnawing
fire
I
cast
myself
aloft,
and
fell
a
laughing
cinder
into
my
gods.

 

II.

gore
eyed
god
spat
down
from
the
Tree,
croaking
worlds–
I
came
into
being.

 

III.

laughing
burning
it
is
all
the
same.
bloody
knowledge
is
the
fruit
of
pain.

Posted on March 18, 2016, in Odin, Poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. These are fabulous!

    It would be an interesting challenge to then write a sonnet with these words as the beginning words of the fourteen lines…! 😉

    Like

    • ganglerisgrove

      lol it wouldn’t fit the rhyme scheme of a proper sonnet. i’d have to fiddle with it.

      Like

      • But isn’t the sonnet rhyme scheme based on end-rhymes? If these were the words that started the lines, rather than being the rhyming words, that could work…right? (It’s been a while since I’ve done a sonnet…)

        Like

  2. ganglerisgrove

    a normal sonnet has a couple of different end rhymes to it. I see what you mean though..i could make that work. I’m not ready to attack a proper sonnet yet. lol. I’m having too much fun with word sonnets

    Like

