Eostre is right around the corner

I’m tired of dealing with the various factions. I don’t want to do that anymore. We have a holy tide coming up in a couple of days and I’d much rather talk about that. Ostara, also called Eostre, is right around the corner.

I have always liked this festival. Maybe because I was born at the end of March there’s a building momentum in the air that really comes to a head for me around the spring equinox. For a longtime though, I had trouble really connecting to this particular festival,  after all, I’m not a farmer; I don’t garden and I’d always had it presented to me as an agricultural holiday (and in part, it is, so if you can connect to its currents that way, awesome). It wasn’t until I started focusing on the Gods commonly honored at this time, that things clicked for me. (I play around sometimes with doing a book about Eostre, and a book each about the other holy tides but then I sort of run away from that idea lol).

I usually spread out my rituals over three days. That way I don’t feel as though I’m rushing anything. I honor Eostre of course, also Hrethe, a Goddess I very much associate with March, and Mani and Sunna. The equinox after all is a celestial event — day and night equally balanced– so it’s always felt right to me to include Them.

It’s a little weird to be settling down to prep for this holiday when we’re expecting a blizzard in my area on Sunday (despite the fact the daffodils in my yard are in full bloom). Anyway, I’ll be posting more about these Gods and this holiday over the next couple of days. For now, here is a prayer for Eostre:

28 Adorations to Eostre

I adore You, Goddess of spring.
I adore You, Goddess of the wet and fertile field.
I adore You, Ever-brightening Dawn.
I adore You, Who hides Your mysteries in liminal places.
I adore You, Rebirth.
I adore You, Renewal.
I adore You, aching tug of awakening hungers.
I adore You, Goddess of adolescence.
I adore You, Goddess of bursting bloom.
I adore You, Goddess of the new season.
I adore You, Goddess of New Growth.
I adore You, Who awakens the womb of the earth.
I adore You, Who brings fertility.
I adore You, laughing dawnlight.
I adore You, who looses the hare.
I adore You, Who quickens the belly.
I adore you. Who fills the egg with life.
I adore You, Holder of all potentiality.
I adore You, Who opens the passage from winter to summer.
I adore You, Whose gentle caress causes winter to yield its sway.
I adore You, Who sweeps away the cold with a kiss of light.
I adore You, Alluring One.
I adore You, Who delights in the rising cock.
I adore You, Who delights in the wet cunt.
I adore You, Goddess of playful delight.
I adore You, friend of Mani.
I adore You, friend of Sunna.
I adore You, Eostre.
May You be hailed at this time, as cold turns to warmth, darkness to light, winter to summer, fallow land to fertile growth. Hail, Eostre.

Posted on March 19, 2016, in Heathenry, Holy Tides, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Happy Eostre to you and yours, Galina! That is a beautiful adoration prayer to Eostre. And, I looove your Mani shrine. So many pretty beads on it. 🙂

    Like

