Cento VII

We harden like trees, like rivers grow cold.
I roamed with my soul.
Love bade me welcome; yet my soul drew back,
Not a whisper, not a thought,
The divine intoxication…
Can you love something distant and strange?
I would empty my soul of the dreams
That have gathered in me.

He spoke; He reached out:
“Every part of you that broke
I carried in my throat.”
Break me broken.
Leaves like feast-day offerings
Wind an altar,
Blossomed and faded, our faces between,
With voices sad and prophetic.
I’m here with shadows.
Over those fires no one could walk.

It came to me we had resumed.
What was written in blood has been set up again,
Half deathless, half mortal,
Crown’d with warlike fires and raging desires.
You will follow the bare scarified breast.
It is noble to die of love,
And honorable to remain.
Some dull cowardice called a world vanishes.
Into the ragged meadow of my soul
Like a diamond
The nectar of the divine name,
The scar of this encounter like a sword —
Like a sword be without a trace of soft iron.
That is how You came here.

I too can go into a grave made only of air.
I celebrate our old, eternal custom.
Passion has brought me to this clearing of the ground.
The name of the Dark One has entered my heart.
This roaming killer came in a fury.
Dreams! Adorations! Illuminations!
I boil my tears in a twisted spoon,
Trembling with fear.
Oh sweet cautery,
I abandoned and forgot myself,
where the desires of two come together.
I am Your reflection.
You are Master of the Hunt.

Our backs gleam
Shards in a tender torrent.
A fight is a kind of dance,
Beautiful rebellion
Of bat-shit particles meant to scatter.
Our deaths keep us company
when nothing else would.
We hurt.
I surrender
I surrender
I surrender.
Worlds collapsing.
You are Master of the Hunt.

storm

[With respect to Lady Mary Wortley Montagu, E. A. Poe, George Herbert, W.H. Auden, Emily Dickinson, Cait Johnson, Sara Teasdale, Ada Gold, Vergil/S. Lombardo, Joshua Davis, Marilyn Hacker, Elizabeth Akers Allen, Henry Wadsworth Longfellow, Agha Shahid Ali, Elizabeth Bishop, James Fenton, Catherine Tufariello, William Blake, Louise Glűck, Ezra Pound, e.e. Cummings, Mirabai, Edna St. Vincent Millay, Rumi, Reginald Gibbons, Euripides, Wendell Berry, Beowulf/Seamus Heaney, Allen Ginsburg, Etheridge Knight, St. John of the Cross, Mechthild of Magdeburg, Monica Ong, Cathy Linh Che, urayoan noel, Douglas Kearney, Sampson Starkweather].

Posted on April 2, 2016, in Poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Reblogged this on The Sovereign of Swords and commented:
    I LOVE this….

    Like

