There are good things too

I’ve been chatting with a few people on twitter and fb, and the prevailing theme of late seems to be how frustrating and dismal and just depressing our communities currently are and I can’t say honestly that I disagree but in on of these conversations, I shared something that I’ve learned over the years that helps me to keep going and keep fighting, and I wanted to share it here too because it’s easy to be overwhelmed.

There are good things happening in our communities too, many of them and it’s important not to lose sight of that. When I get frustrated and overwhelmed, I go to my shrines, I pray and meditate on my Gods (I also watch silly television and make art or write poetry, take a friend to lunch …anything that isn’t related to the various battles du jour). I’ll share a prayer that moves me, or a photo of a shrine or something else that is beautiful and in some way related to my Gods. I go back to the source: the Gods Themselves, and focus on the venerative practices that have such tremendous power to sustain.

It’s important to never lose sight of that, of our Gods, otherwise what are we doing all of this for? Why are we bothering to engage in the debates and discussions and even the fights? Those things will pass but our Gods will remain and it’s to Them we must turn for nourishment. What is it about your practices and traditions that give you comfort? That inspire? That bring you joy? Those are the things that we can’t lose sight of and I do try even when our battles rage the fiercest to post about those things too because in the end, that’s what will sustain and it’s what truly counts.

Posted on April 9, 2016, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Excellent post, Galina.

    Like

  2. Thank you so much Galina for continuing to remind us what our true focus is💓

    Liked by 2 people

