An Interesting Comparison

It’s interesting to compare the account of an Antifa protest provided by Gods&Radicals with other people’s description of the incident. It’s even more interesting to compare actual footage, such as that found here and here. Keep in mind, I don’t actually support the views being expressed by either side in the video but the proper response is to keep debating not dump a bottle of piss on a woman’s head because she’s argued you into a corner and you can’t find your words.

Disgusting, and all too familiar.

I mean, all you have to do is look at the conversation I was having with C. Thompson here and here. He came bursting into an already existing conversation, did his chest-thumping schtick to intimidate us, started randomly accusing folks of being racist and when asked for concrete examples couldn’t provide a single one. He did lie, twist words, and repeat the racist charge like a mantra – but was completely unable to engage in civil and rational debate until he was finally chased off with his tail between his legs.

Anne Hatzakis, of the wonderful Greek Revivalist Mommy blog, posed the following:

I have read the articles in question, and as a Hellenic Reconstructionist/Revivalist, I heartily agree with Galina. I also think that those of us who ARE in the Reconstructionist movement need to speak up about what we ARE so that people know the difference between the truth and the spin about us.

I think we see here why more people aren’t speaking up.

They’re intimidated and afraid. They don’t want piss – whether metaphorically or literally – dumped on their heads for daring to question these people and their attempts to co-opt and pervert our religious traditions and communities for their own twisted political and ideological goals. They don’t want to be hounded, harassed, banned, censored, threatened and physically silenced. So they do it to themselves.

That’s not an option for me.

There’s other things I’d rather be blogging about – and have been, though they don’t get near the attention or traffic – but I’m also going to hold this line and keep calling these people out, even if I end up standing alone. As I mentioned a while back, many in my family died fighting authoritarian regimes on both the Right and the Left – and I will not dishonor their memory by letting some online bullies scare me into keeping my mouth shut.

So bring on the bottles of piss. I’ll take a shower and keep typing away at my keyboard.

Posted on April 24, 2016, in community, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Your mentioning of ancestors dying while fighting against authoritarian regimes, both Left and Right, reminded me that today is the 100th anniversary of the Easter Rising. Irishmen and women from all sides of the political spectrum, from Marxist trade-unionists to Conservative nationalists, united to throw off a foreign yoke, many of them paying with their lives. Sadly, they too eventually turned on each other.
    I don’t know on which side of the internecine conflict my ancestors fought and today I don’t care.
    Today, I shall be pouring some whiskey to the glorious dead.

    Liked by 5 people

  2. Virginia carper

    I find it interesting to call what is written about Rhyd as a demagogue to be a personal attack but perfectly alright to write a hit piece on Sol Invictus. Other examples abound like saying Trump is evil and John Bloch is a white supremacist. However any criticism of Rhyd is verboten. Double standards.

    Like

  3. What these people are doing is saying that anyone who is not a Left wing Marxist Non-Theistic Pagan like them is racist/fascist/bigoted by default. By saying that the belief or opinion itself is racist, they attempt a blanket discrediting of an entire community, leaving themselves as the only ‘reputable’ authority on the subject. It’s disgusting. I feel as if we are all locked in a metaphorical shield wall. Thankfully we have those who are skilled with the verbal seax to hold line against these invaders.

    Like

  4. I rarely chime in because I generally don’t know what to say. But I agree with the call to stand up for what we are, what our polytheism is, so I did my best and posted something.

    Liked by 1 person

  1. Pingback: Trigger Warning!!! ;) | Gangleri's Grove

