Seriously, people, *seriously*?!

The rumor-mill is in full effect with certain people associated with a certain site implying that I or my husband are responsible for this:

http://rhydwildermuth.com/

I’m not going to speak for my husband beyond saying that I asked him and he just laughed and said, “Not my style.” We’re different people with different ideas and if he considers this an important enough matter he’ll make his own statement.

But for myself, I would like to emphatically state that I did not do it, I don’t know who did it, and if I did I’d tell them to take that shit down because it’s not funny. (FFS, people. Satire takes subtlety. I’ve been accused of many things in the course of my working life, but that has never been one of them). That’s the kind of thing people try with me all the time so why would I turn around and do that to someone else? Or have you guys forgotten about this sickening site:

https://polytheistrestoration.com/

I don’t have to resort to such cheap rhetorical tricks – merely holding a mirror up to the horrible things these people say and do is enough. I can read. That is why I always provide links, so you can go and read too and make your own judgments as opposed to just taking my word on something. Maybe you don’t know me well, but I am not a shy and soft-spoken woman. I don’t hide and take pot-shots at people from the sidelines – I wade right into the thick of it. Say what you will of me, you always know where we stand with one another.

So whoever is responsible for these sites – do you honestly think you’re helping? (and as to who might actually be responsible and whether or not they want to ‘help,’ I think we really should be asking the eternal question: cui bono? Because I read the first site, and it was written by an insider, or someone with an insider’s knowledge of Rhyd and his work). This situation has gotten bad enough without you throwing more gas on the fire. If you can’t out-argue the other side using truth and reason, you don’t deserve to win.

Come on people, we can – and should! – be doing better than this.

 

Posted on April 26, 2016, in community, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 24 Comments.

  1. If only they knew how tech-savvy you are not.

    *shakes head*

    As someone who knows you well, I laughed at the rumor as I knew it was impossible to be true.

    What’s next, rumors you’re really a new alien tiger hybrid infused with an AI program?

    *scoffs*

    Like

    • ganglerisgrove

      the spoof site had columns. Columns!! Who the fuck knows how to do columns in a website? i find wordpress difficult to work with at times. that’s the height of my tech skill. jesus. (and yes, i thought this too when a couple of people asked me if i did it. Firstly, I don’t write satire ever. not my style. Secondly, i’m direct; and thirdly: i don’t have the tech skill. That site was pretty. I was envious. lol).

      Liked by 2 people

      • Never in a million years would I have considered this even remotely your style.

        Like

      • thetinfoilhatsociety

        Well whoever is doing it is having a blast, I am currently being RickRolled now. Which is perfectly OK because I happen to like Rick Astley, but … yeah. Genius. *takes off hat to whoever did this* Brilliant. 🙂

        Like

  2. Haha, someone’s gone to a lot of effort making that. I couldn’t imagine either you or Sannion being bothered to do it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Well, I just wish people had a thicker skin or better focus on what they think is their mission in life. It is as though “when you up to your ass in alligators, you tend to forget your main mission was to drain the swamp.” I like to think that if G&R people are serious about draining swamps, they would focus on that and not on the alligators. I for one will be focusing on finishing my article for the forth coming Walking the Worlds on how Romans do politics and religion. And devotion to the Gods.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I’m going to have to disagree with you on this one. Lampooning of would-be dictators is a time-honored tradition, and one that is too effective to give up. Put up reasoned responses to arguments, sure, but that shouldn’t prevent anyone from the sort of mockery that “Stalin-in-the-wings” Wildermuth so richly deserves.

    And for the record, I didn’t do it either. Wish I had, though.

    Liked by 3 people

  5. The link goes to YouTube song? I don’t understand a thing….

    Like

    • There seems to be two versions or it’s cached or… whatever?
      The site I see is a kinda blog like website with burbs mocking Rhyd. Example:

      “World’s Highest-Ranking Anarchist Armchair Pagan Pundit

      I’m a self-appointed peasant-king, firebrand, editor, and poet.

      I write many things, and none of it contains any nuance. Read my stuff and join my witch hunts! Please don’t look too deep into my past.”

      Liked by 2 people

    • Yeah–I’m getting Rickrolled every time I click the link, too…both when I do the link above, and when I do “www” before it, and with .com and .org.

      I don’t need to see the site, per se, but I’m curious, and I do enjoy a good laugh once in a while…there’s been little enough to laugh at lately in this mess (other than faulty premises for arguments and general demagogic jiggery-pokery, but that’s not to everyone’s taste).

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Thank you, Moon Rouge – I thought I was the only one that didn’t ‘get it’. Catchy tune, though.

    Liked by 2 people

  7. What’s being described doesn’t really sound like proper satire; it just sounds like someone trying to gripe and troll. That’s not the same thing. Good satire is “The Colbert Report”, “A Modest Proposal”, or “The Onion”. Heck, the Anamaniacs and Tiny Toons did great satire upon occasion. Just wandering around going “DURRRR look at me….I am acting like the stupid person who I think is stupid and dumb! DRRRR” isn’t satire; it’s just mockery wearing a fancy sport coat and a vest

    For the record, I can’t see it either; I just get rick rolled. The type of faux-satire being described here isn’t new stuff however; I think we’ve all seen it once or twice before.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Okay, just to be clear, despite my parody book cover apparently appearing there, I did NOT make the smurf site. I can’t even see it, I get redirected to Paganarch.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I laughed harder than I rightly should have at the “Your Face is a Fascist” bit. It makes me happy that genuinely funny things can come out of something as infuriating as the feud with G&R has been. Maybe there is hope yet.

    Like

  10. Having read all the stuff Wildermuth wrote recently I just decided to join AFA. Perhaps not the best of reasons but I feel my decision is right…

    Like

