Back from an Awesome Weekend

I’m back from an amazing retreat: a weekend with polytheists honoring our Gods. It really drives home that while we may have common cause with others, while we may be able to work together with others, one can only truly share sacred space, (and indeed perhaps should only do so), the ecstatic immediacy of Divine Presence, the joy of ritual, and the shattering power of initiation with others who likewise recognize, honor, and venerate the Gods. This whole weekend re-ignited my practice. Making offerings to my Gods, joining with others to craft shrines to Hermes in the woods and on the beach, celebrating Dionysos and His retinue of spirits in ritual, witnessing that powerful transformation was nourishing to me on a soul-deep level and it brought home how important it is to share sacred time with others. We learn from each other and inspire each other – and both happened this past weekend—when we come together to honor our Gods.

It was also the first time that I had been able to honor Ran, Aegir, and Their Nine Daughters actually at the ocean since my mom died in 2010. I felt as though I was coming home to a cultus that she helped restore. I told Them, as I prayed and poured out offerings that it was grief that kept me away and I prayed to the moon and was swallowed up for a time by His kindness.

Dver put it best here, and I have copied this passage into the small portable journal that has become both missal and prayer book for me:

“So, give.
Give to your gods.
Give Them everything you can.
Give Them tangible offerings.
Give when you are feeling enraptured by Their presence.
Give when you are not feeling Their presence at all.
Give when you need, and give to show gratitude, and give for no reason at all.
Give big, as big as you can, as often as you can.
Give together with others who know your gods, and be inspired by the gifts of others.
Give alone, just you and Them, where no one else will see.”

That is what is important, perhaps the only thing that is truly important and being amongst a group of people who recognize that gives me hope for the future of our ways.

I’ll be writing more about this over the next few days. I still have to unpack, rest, and process. Hail to all our Gods.

Posted on June 16, 2016, in Bacchic Things, community, devotional work, Heathenry, hellenic things, Lived Polytheism, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I’m trying to not be envious here…but in all seriousness, glad to hear that this went so well. May the Gods be praised with more and more gatherings of this caliber!

    Like

  2. This is exactly what I yearn for, and so glad you were able to have this experience!! May They ever be hailed!!!

    Like

  3. Welcome back, Galina! Happy to hear you had a great time and it was soul inspiring to you.

    Like

  1. Pingback: Yeah. That’s … uh … pretty cool too. « The House of Vines

