Re-enchanting our world…literally

We have assembled inside this ancient
& insane theatre
To propagate our lust for life
& flee the swarming wisdom
of the streets
(J. Morrison)

This weekend was so tremendously inspiring, in part because I was able to talk with other devotees, other polytheists, and in a couple of cases other spiritworkers. We were able to exchange knowledge and techniques, and one of the things that I was able to see first hand is how others go about opening doors to the Gods and spirits in their world. I’ve come away with quite a few ideas.

One of those ideas is actually littering my town with enchantments designed to enhance people’s awareness of the Gods and spirits populating our world, designed to open small keyholes and doorways through which our eldritch spirits may skitter. I suppose it might be called ‘glamour bombing’ but there’s less glamour and more eerie fucking magic to be had when this is done right.

To create charms designed to affect the finder, designed to tag them for the spirits, designed to mark them for the Gods, designed to open their awareness little by little to the world beyond our world, the world within it, the enchantment, the holiness all around us? Fuck yeah. It is seeding the place with power. It is creating contamination with the holy. I’m good with that. Let the Gods and Their retinue of spirits seep and creep into our world by any means necessary, by any doorway, window, keyhole, and loophole at their disposal. Amen and ashe.

Tonight, I decided to try my hand at it. It’s 2:30am and I just returned from planting the first charm, and about that I’ll say no more save that I felt it take hold in the fabric of the wyrd and it is the first of many to be laid.

gl bmb 1

I’d like to encourage others to do this…use the conduit of art to lace your world with enchantments, beauty, and a little mystery. Create charms and shrines and everything in between and fucking recolonize the world for and with our Gods and every one of the spirits that serve Them. Step by step, stone by stone, shrine by shrine, offering by offering, and charm by charm let us reclaim. They are everywhere.

 

 

The Lords. Events take place beyond our knowledge or control. Our lives are lived for us. …But gradually, special perceptions are being developed. The idea of the “Lords” is beginning to form in some minds. We should enlist them into bands of perceivers to tour the labyrinth during their mysterious nocturnal appearances. The Lords have secret entrances and they know disguises. But they give themselves away in minor ways. Too much glint of light in the eye. A wrong gesture. Too long and curious a glance.
(J. Morrison)

Posted on June 16, 2016, in Esoterica, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 17 Comments.

  1. Interesting. Lately I have been leaving change from Legba’s shrine in our laundry room as per His instructions. It looks like great minds think alike — or their Gods do 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • With ours, I wait ’til it accumulates and then put it in a brown paper bag clearly marked with His veve at the nearby crossroads that I use for such purposes.

      Like

  2. I leave offerings all over the place on my walk. Is this a little different?

    One thing that I have noticed. Roadside shrines to people who died in car crashes. I have two of them in walking distance. They have crosses on them, but they also have been maintained with flowers and candle offerings for the past 6 years. Every time I pass them, I hail the Lars that lives there.

    Re-enchanting is going on, in subtle ways, I think.

    Liked by 4 people

  3. Speaking as one of European descent living in North America, I think we should to be real cautious and skeptical about that whole “re-colonizing” bit.

    Like

    • ganglerisgrove

      if it means recolonizing the territory that monotheism stole, I’m good with it. It’s the only time you’ll hear me speak positively of any type of colonization. granted, perhaps ‘reclaiming’ would be a better term, but i’d frankly like to see monotheism driven out completely not just pushed back. *shrugs*. time to clean house.

      Liked by 2 people

  4. Aaron Brookes

    These people who you are forcibly exposing to potential possession by a spirit or god did not consent to such, last I checked consent has to be affirmative. Also without intent from the person receiving contact who knows which spirit or god will show up, not all of them are friendly. This is a risky idea that potentially violates peoples’ right to control their own bodies and interactions.

    Like

    • ganglerisgrove

      those people make the choice by taking the charm. me? I’d leave shit alone if i found stuff like that.

      Like

      • Aaron Brookes

        That only makes sense of they know what they’re picking up. Some six year old wandering around will pick up anything that looks interesting.

        Your argument also sounds a lot like, “She was asking for it with that sort skirt.”

        Liked by 1 person

    • There’s no forcing here. She, and others who engage in this work, are not shoving a charm into their hand. It’s the equivalent of hanging up a set of chimes. If someone hears them when the wind blows through them, that’s not them being ‘forced’ to listen. They can go elsewhere, can put their fingers in their ears. If I hear bells about town, the town isn’t ‘forcing’ me to hear it. I can turn my music up, or throw headphones in my ears and drown it out.

      Take this another way: if a protest group blocks off a street, there are usually other streets. If they block off a bridge, well, they clog traffic, intentionally, to get their point across. It is effective. Now, they might be putting others in danger because emergency vehicles may not be able to get across the bridge now. The protesters take on that moral risk when they decide to clog a bridge with a protest.

      So far as I see it, this is hardly clogging bridge traffic. This may be putting the Gods, Ancestors, and vaettir front and center in peoples’ field of vision, but Christians will do that all the time with billboards, signposts, street preachers, evangelism, and so on. This is far more subtle, less in-your-face, and actually gives people the option of walking away rather than refusing to move unless you take their pamphlet or hear their speech.

      Liked by 5 people

  5. ganglerisgrove

    You’re bringing in completely irrelevant stuff. There are rules and protocols to the way spirits work in this world and one of them is if you go picking up what isn’t yours, you may have to deal with consequences. I’m perfectly ok with that.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Things people can, theoretically, do instead of taking the charms:
    – Blowing a kiss to them when they pass by
    – Doing quick divination to see if it’s a wise idea to take the charms
    – Stopping to meditate on the charm and get a feel for its energy (ugh I hate that term but still)
    – Leaving small offerings to the spirits hanging around the charm
    – Ignoring it and leaving it alone
    – Creating their own pieces of art and hanging them up, regardless of whether they know the charm’s intent

    If the assumption is that people will take stuff, then perhaps the problem is with the culture that teaches us that taking this stuff willy-nilly is okay.

    If a child takes one of the charms, perhaps that child feels a connection with the spirits already (I know Hermes and I connected and interacted when I was very young). Wyrd works in strange ways sometimes.

    Liked by 2 people

    • ganglerisgrove

      I think what they’re objecting to, Eupheme, is that i don’t give a rat’s ass about whether or not the humans in question face consequences. In fact, I WANT them to pick up the charms, I want to make them prey for my Gods. I know there are consequences and I’m manipulating that fact and putting something pretty, interesting, and shiny out there to be taken so that those consequences will fall on some unsuspecting fool’s head. to that I can only say one thing: yep.

      Liked by 2 people

      • thetinfoilhatsociety

        *giggle snort* You might have Gangleri as the title of this blog but it’s definitely Odin that inspires you …. 🙂

        Like

  7. ganglerisgrove

    Gangleri is Odin. and yes.

    Like

  8. rainmaidenblog

    beautiful charm. very powerful

    Like

  1. Pingback: ontological terrorism « The House of Vines

  2. Pingback: Allegiance | Gangleri's Grove

