Shout Out to Prayer Card Artists

I’ve been running my prayer card project for at least three years now and during that time I have had the pleasure of working with numerous and very, very talented artists. Their art has been inspired and it’s been a real privilege partnering with them. Over the next week or so, I want to give a shout out to each of them so I’ll be posting their sites and where you can go if you want to commission anything from them. Art is sacred and a powerful conduit to the Gods and I really think we should be supporting our own. This is a good way to do that.

To that end, I’ve emailed as many of the artists as I can with whom I’ve worked on my prayer cards and asked them to let me know where you can go to buy their stuff. As responses trickle in, I’ll be sharing that info here, starting with artists Lynn Perkins and Basil Blake.

Lynn Perkins creates gorgeous prayer cards, including the immensely popular Odin, and most recently the Gersimi and Hnossa cards. She maintains an art blog here and a separate site where she profiles a very different type of art: handmade art dolls. Her work is lush and evocative and she does take commissions. She’s currently working on cards for the sea Goddess Ran and the Ocean God Aegir.

wotanFinal2copy-1

(Odin by Lynn Perkins)

Basil Blake has contributed quite a number of cards including Mokosh and Ninkasi. She has an art site here and may also be contacted for commissions. One of the things that I really like about working with so many different artists is the varying styles and interpretations (sometimes of the same Deity) that result. The cards that Ms. Blake has done are delicate, colorful and remind me strongly of certain types of folk art. They’re quite appealing. (She’s currently working on a Cernunnos card for me).

Ninkasi

(Ninkasi by Basil Blake)

All the currently available prayer cards may be purchased here

Stay tuned, more to come soon. 🙂

Posted on July 19, 2016, in Art, Prayer cards, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I really love this idea and have to admit I feel embarrassed in thinking Basil Blake was male :/ My sincere apologies! While I love all the artists Galina commissions, Blake’s work is some of my favourite pieces. She really encapsulates a style I dearly admire and adore.

    Like

  2. Thank you so much! Doing the prayer cards is a lot of fun for me.

    Liked by 1 person

