31 Days of Devotion – Day 5 for Mani

  1. Who are Members of the family – genealogical connections of this Deity.

We actually do know quite a bit of Mani’s family, at least we know who They are and to some degree, what Their spheres of influence are too. We know that His father is Mundilfari, the God of time. Aside from that, we don’t actually know very much about Mundilfari, though contemporary northern traditionalists have come up with a number of theories. I personally think that as a God of time, He can ride the threads of wyrd and the flow of time to whenever and wherever He wishes. It makes Him remarkably difficult to pin down, I’d imagine. I haven’t had any direct experiences with Him, save that I’ve always gotten the sense that Mani loves His family very deeply. I have participated in raising a God-pole to Him, and I likewise keep an image on my Mani shrine for Him (I have a card of the astronomical clock in Prague…seems like it’s the perfect image for Mundilfari!).

Mani has a sister Sunna or Sol, the personification of the Sun, our Sun Goddess. She is likewise a bringer of health and healing (She is referenced in the Second Merseburg Charm in a healing context) and tends the cycles of the day. I’ve often called Sunna our pace-setter because we work on a solar calendar and from Her we can learn how to best organize the working hours of the day.

We also know that there is another sister Sinthgunt, also mentioned in the second Merseburg Charm. Almost nothing is known about Her beyond that one mention. I have done quite a bit of devotional work with Sinthgunt and my own experience of Her is of a powerful Goddess of cosmic cycles, of the movement of stars, alchemy, and the birthing of galaxies.

Mani’s aunt (?) and herald is the Goddess of night, Nott. She is a wandering Power, grandmother of Thor, and may be the mother of Dagr, the God of Day, and the herald of Sunna. She may also be the mother of Jord, and a God Audr, perhaps a minor Deity of wealth. There are discrepancies with respect to Nott and Jord, but I think this may actually be a matter of differing regional cultus.

Unfortunately, we don’t know who Mani’s mother might be. That information has not come down to us in any surviving lore.

Posted on August 5, 2016, in Heathenry, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Just as a wild theory: I wonder if Sinthgunt, as the completion of a triad of three siblings of which the other two are the sun and moon, could be the dawn? That’s certainly the case in Greek, with Selene and Helios and Eos all being children of Hyperion and Theia. I’m not saying “this is the case,” but when I first heard about the triad of Mani, Sunna, and Sinthgunt, that was what I thought…

    Is there a Deity associated with the dawn in Norse mythology? Or, as an alternative, perhaps She could be a Goddess of the dusk? (There aren’t too many of those that I know of, but that might be an interesting thing to ponder as well…there’s no reason She couldn’t be both, if she is a Goddess connected to cyclical time, since it’s pretty hard not to think of time and its cycles when dawn and dusk happen!)

    Like

    • ganglerisgrove

      she’s definitely not the dawn….we do have a goddess who is in part associated with the dawn (eostre, or Ostara) but that Goddess has no known association with this family.

      She’s cyclical time but more far reaching and cosmic than dusk….which would more properly belong to the herald of Nott in our tradition.

      good thoughts, though! 🙂

      btw, am loving your posts with this question cycle.

      Like

      • Thank you, and thank you for inspiring them! I’m enjoying doing them (I just completed one of the two for today), and they’re actually turning up some things I didn’t expect with some of the Deities and Heroes concerned, so that’s great!

        (I wrote “inspiriting” first instead of “inspiring” above…but, that’s kind of appropriate, eh?)

        Like

