More Conversations We Need to be Having

Kenaz Filan and I are continuing our conversation started here over on Kenaz’s blog. 

Part I may be read here

Part II may be read here

Part III may be read here.

Posted on August 10, 2016, in community, Polytheism, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. honorthegodsblog

    I do think, even in a polytheist culture, that separation of religion and government would remain important – just in case a leader should declare themself (or be declared) a god while still alive. That scenario caused political problems a time or two in Rome, with, I seem to recall, at least one assassination resulting.

    Like

  2. Honorthegodsblog: I have reservations (to put it charitably) about any sort of Theocracy. But I also think there’s an enormous misunderstanding of what “separation of Church and State” means. It means the government cannot set up an official state religion: Utah can’t declare LDS Christianity the ruling faith, Rockland County, NY can’t set up Satmar Hasidism as pre-eminent, etc. It doesn’t mean that a devout person won’t view political issues through the lens of their spirituality — nor should it.

    In practice it means a devout person needs to find logical reasons to support his faith’s cause without recourse to “our holy book says so.” But I would think any devout religious person would want to do that anyway: I’d like to have at least some understanding of why my Gods’ commandments benefit society and while I might take Loki’s word on something I wouldn’t presume to expect others would do so. (Heck, I hesitate with taking His word sometimes! He has never lied to me, but He is also happy to make things…. interesting… for you).

    In a pious society you honor the Gods of your community as part of your social and familial duties. You fulfill your social and familial responsibilities as part of your duty to the Gods. It’s a pyramid that is incredibly powerful should all sides be firmly in place, but which can crumble rapidly should any part be neglected.

    Like

