A New Shrine to Mary as Mother of the Dead

My friend Brandon has created an online shrine to Mary that I want to share here. It’s lovely and a fitting offering, I think. There are a few prayers (I’m sure in time there will be more) and a place where visitors can leave prayers and light digital ‘candles.’ I talk a little bit about why some polytheists may honor this particular Holy Power in this article here. If Mary is part of your devotional life, you may want to check this out.

mary on moon

(The photo is mine from the ceiling of the Loreto in Prague). 

Posted on August 11, 2016, in marian matters, shrines, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I can’t explain how timely and perfect this is for me. Thank you!

    Like

  2. I have never had any trouble honoring Mary, whoever(s) She is!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. thetinfoilhatsociety

    I will gladly hail Mary, whether it’s as the Queen of Heaven or as one of the Mothers of the Dead though I haven’t ever considered her in that light. In that light, she is possibly the ideal psychopomp, walking with the dead and ushering them through that initiation into death.

    My husband has a crucifix that came with his grandmother from Poland when she emigrated here. It hangs where it has hung for nearly 20 years, since we pulled it out of the box my husband’s grandfather willed to us after his death (he was from Belgium). I have always hated that thing – it brings up the goriest parts of Christianity to me. BUT. If we were to be lucky enough to have inherited one of her Mary icons (we weren’t, sadly) THOSE would hold an honorable place. Perhaps I will encourage DH to try to get in touch with his grandmother via this cross. She was a deeply devoted woman from all I have understood of her, though I never met her.

    Like

