Good article by Tess Dawson


Here is a very good post by Tess Dawson on why we might want to rethink naming pets after Gods. (I’ve always loathed the trend personally). She also brings up the idea of ‘reading in good faith,’ in other words, not assuming that the writer is out to rain on your personal parade, but actually reading as though there might be something worth sharing here. Good thoughts both. 

Posted on August 11, 2016, in Lived Polytheism, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. True story: T, an artist friend of ours, was grousing about how her cats were wreaking havoc in her studio. Monster Alice (my spouse) said, “You named them Loki and Coyote. What did you *expect*?”

    Like

  2. I feel this way for naming children too. I’ve been hearing a lot of kids named Loki lately.
    Ancient Greeks used the gods names in their names, but with added nouns, like Apollodorus (meaning: Apollo’s gift, gift from Apollo).

    Like

  3. I like names that recall a myth or honor a deity- but to take the name entirely is just not a good idea. I have a breeding buck named Grinder (after Tooth-Grinder, one of the names given to the goats that pull Thor’s chariot) and a dog name Epekos- Listener, an epithet shared by several Greek deities including Ares. It seemed appropriate given that I’m pretty sure he found her for me. Names like this, I think, are still OK.

    Like

