Recap of Today’s Ritual

Today my husband held a rite to honor Athena, specifically as Protector of the dead. I didn’t know about this aspect of Her cultus until we were prepping for this rite, but I think the ritual was quite powerful. I had never honored Athena before this, being Heathen, but I am immensely moved by this soldier’s Goddess.

We had a full house: nine people attending. It was difficult to get good photos of the altar that we set up and then later of Her shrine, mostly because we didn’t think about it at the time, and the angles and space required for a good, full-on shot were problematic. Still, I thought some of you might like to see what we did. Several people sent in prayers or requests prior to the rite and I made those prayers/requests as promised before the ritual ended.

Aug 20 AThena altar

Here is the altar with all the offerings laid out before it. Some are really obscured in this photo. For instance, in the lower left wrapped in a grey cloth are two loaves of home made bread. the cloth is just visible here. The papers in the lower right are prayers that others who could not attend asked me to say. There had been more offerings, including two bottles of olive oil on the altar itself, but we poured them into the bowls and the empty bottles are outside of the shot. There is a spear, which now graces Her shrine laid in front of the woven mat, and more offering bowls that I just couldn’t get into the shot.

Here is Athena’s shrine after I put Her images back after deconstructing the ritual altar, several hours after the ritual.

Athena shrine Aug 20

You can see the little yarn dolls to represent the dead that were made as part of the ritual. Again, a ton of food offerings are on the ground in front of the flowers but i couldn’t get a decent shot because I couldn’t back up far enough. 

 Here is a playlist Sannion made to get one in the proper headspace for honoring Athena. I’m fascinated by play lists. I don’t relate Gods to music that way (I wish I did!) so this is like some strange, fascinating, and shiny thing for me. I don’t quite get it for myself, but I know it’ll be useful to others and think it very cool, so I’m sharing that here too. 

I also did a new prayer card for Athena in honor of this ritual. I want Her to have nice things, as I want all our Gods to have nice things, images, and devotion. 

Posted on August 21, 2016, in Bacchic Things, hellenic things, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. songofscotland

    The photo of the altar with all of the offerings before it is absolutely beautiful. The flowers, the food, the prayers… such incredible physical representations of a truly living faith.

    Like

  2. Very beautiful. Thank you for the photographs and also the playlist link.

    Like

  3. Thank you for sharing the photos of sacred spaces that you’ve created.

    Like

  1. Pingback: Bene omnibus nobis « The House of Vines

  2. Pingback: What I learned from the hilasmós of Athene | True Pagan Warrior

