My Polytheism, my Heathenry is…

I was reminded recently of something I’d written long ago:

Now I’m going to tell you what I want to make of Heathenry. I want a religion where people burn for their Gods. I want a religion full of devotion, creativity, celebration, and joy, radical joy. I want a religion that’s fearless, wherein people take to heart Rumi’s maxim, “that there are thousands of ways to kneel and kiss the ground.” i want a religion based on piety, respect, and adoration of the Powers. I want a religion where people understand that the lore is a map not the territory and that it’s an incomplete and corrupted map at that. I want a religion where honoring the ancestors and serving the Gods and spirits is the main purpose of life and practice and where people feel free to do that in the way those Gods and ancestors dictate, even if it’s not the way everyone else is doing things. i want a religion where the only thing that matters is how well you honor your dead and serve your Gods, because we know that blessings on the whole community flow from that devotion. I want a religion where the first thing people are encouraged to do is learn the basics of devotion and where they are supported in that and where talking to Gods is not viewed as crazy at all. i want a religion where people care more about the Gods than pandering to each other’s egos. I want a Heathenry that’s not based on fear and conformity and a paucity of spirit but on a glorious celebration of diversity of devotion, of all our Gods large and small, of all the spirits that make up our world and of the wisdom of our Ancestors. I want a religion where people pray and see it as a good and necessary thing. I want a religion where people prostrate themselves before their Gods and dead, as our ancestors did, and count it a good and joyous thing.

Posted on October 1, 2016, in Heathenry, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Thank you. Beautiful in its clarity.

    Like

  2. As they would say in my youth, “Right on!”

    Liked by 1 person

  3. “I want a religion where people prostrate themselves before their Gods and dead, as our ancestors did, and count it a good and joyous thing.”

    And a good and joyous thing it is, but does anyone else feel completely wrung out and/or grieved after praying to the Gods? Usually this is worst when praying to the Gods I love most.

    Other than my above aside, this is all sorts of “Hell Yeah!”

    Liked by 1 person

