Current book project update

I want to share a little bit about my current project. In addition to the Freya devotional (which will eventually get done. I’m using a slightly different format from the other three novena booklets and it’s a bit more labor intensive), I’m also working on a novena book to the “Mothers.” This idea actually came to me in a dream and I woke up thinking “oh shit, I need to do this.” So it’s my current obsession right now. 

I”m doing a novena book that offers ten novenas (each one has a description of the Goddess, a reading, and a prayer that can be pondered and offered for nine days) for the Mothers within the Greek tradition (and Roman). I’m very specific about Whom I’m including and most of them are nymphs or humans loved by Gods who later became elevated. There are a few exceptions though there are a few that I was pushed to include  and I specifically excluded some (like Rhea and Ariadne) because I felt that Their primary position is dependent on other things, They are known for other things, and are *bigger* in a way. 

So here are the holy Powers included in this novena book (in no particular order here): 

  1. Semele (Mother of Dionysos)
  2. Maia (Mother of Hermes, foster mother of Arcus)
  3. Leto (Mother of Apollon and Artemis)
  4. Leda (Mother of Helen and the Dioskurai)
  5. Metis (Mother of Athena)
  6. Thetis (Mother of Achilles)
  7. Penelopeia (Mother of Pan)
  8. Danae (Mother of Perseus)
  9. Pasiphae (Mother of the Minotaur)
  10. Alcmene (Mother of Herakles)

The section on Semele is completely finished, the section on Maia lacks a prayer, and most of the others have readings selected. I suspect to have this finished by at least November’s end. I’m sort of alternating between this one and Freya’s. 

If anyone would like to contribute a prayer to any of these goddesses (other than Semele — that section is finished, though I wouldn’t be averse to including another prayer so if that’s Who you were thinking of writing for, go for it. ), I would be  most delighted to include it and would give the contributor a copy of the finished devotional in return. I always like to first reach out to people who have pre-existing devotional relationships with Deities about Whom I’m writing. It seems only polite and a thing that best serves the Deity. Contact me at krasskova at gmail.com if you are interested in contributing. 

As an aside, I think Maia is awesomely cool and I think I’m going to do a prayer card for Her. 🙂 

 

EDIT: Deadline for all submissions is Nov. 15.

Posted on October 21, 2016, in Book News, hellenic things, Roman Things, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Oh sweet I will definitely buy a copy of the Mothers novena booklet 🙂

    …and I might just write a Metis prayer, let me think about that for a bit…

    Like

  2. I love this idea! I will meditate on it and send you something soon. I adore mother veneration so much.

    Like

  3. Will gladly submit for Leto. First among mothers (as being a goddess of motherhood) being also an underworld goddess gives a face of comfort to death amd night with which she is also associated. I am so glad she is included

    Like

  4. This is a brilliant idea, and I’m glad you’re doing it…

    I could do Maia, and/or Thetis, if you like…

    Like

