Happy Hot Tea Month ^_^

I found out yesterday that January is hot tea month. This tickles me immensely for no other reason than that I love tea. Tea is also one of my plant allies, along with tobacco one of my primary ones. I like that she has her own celebratory month. lol. I wonder if coffee has one? 

tea

 

So go drink some tea. I tend to be something of a tea snob. While in a pinch, I’ll drink anything, my favorites are some of the flavored black teas from Fortnum and Mason (though they seem to have discontinued two of my absolute favorites). Since I live not too far from Harney and Sons, I also stock up regularly on their blends. While I’ll drink green tea, I prefer a good black tea. English breakfast, a good darjeeling or assam, on a rare occasion a nice smoky lapsang souchong just makes my day. I’ve also, over the years, found use for it in my spirit work. For instance, in journey work, a pouch of fine tea makes an excellent gift to Powers one may encounter. I keep blocks of Puerh for just that purpose. (smells atrocious until brewed, but the taste is deep, complex, and rich). I also honor the spirit of Tea as I would any other powerful being from amongst allied vaettir.

I always laugh when people ask me what my plant allies are. I know that most assume I”ll rattle off an impressive list of entheogens but that is not the case. The expressions on people’s faces when I rattle off my small list: coffee, tea, tobacco, and the vine (alcohol), sometimes oregano and marjoram, dragonsblood, and a couple of flowers is priceless.  

So that is all. Happy hot tea month. For those of you who honor the Greek and Roman Gods, don’t forget about January’s Hermes agon. It’s a good thing to bring more prayers and art for our Gods into being. Plus, for my agon, there are prizes. lol 

Posted on January 3, 2017, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. yessssss! best month ever!

    Like

  2. Awesome! Coincidentally (right, like there’s such a thing), I received a lovely tea chest for Yule. I’m looking forward to seeing the colors from tea dust seep into the wood and smell the aromas as they’re absorbed. Time to brew up some brown rice matcha! (With some mochi on the side!)

    Like

  3. Very cool re. hot tea month! I love tea too. Since I have trouble sleeping, I tend to stick to the herbal teas like chamomile, peppermint, etc. I do like chai tea. For brands, I adore Mighty Leaf Tea (very good organic tea and you actually see the tea leaves and herbs in their tea bags) and Celestial Seasonings.

    Like

  4. I’m all in favor of “mundane” plant allies! One of mine is Tomato. I raise about 20-30 heirloom tomato plants a year.

    No reason a plant ally has to be something exotic and not something you consume and enjoy regularly. Corn, beans, and squash were staples of the Native American diet (at least the ones who farmed) and also honored as being sacred.

    Like

  1. Pingback: Happy Hot Tea Month ^_^ | GrannyMoon's Morning Feast

