Even More from the Met

I want to share these photo as well. I already did on facebook. These are also from the Metropolitan Museum, part of their permanent collection. 

sweet-head-of-a-youth-or-maybe-hermes

firstly, the head of a young athlete. I adore this image because it just screams Hermes to me. It reminds me of the Hermes Praxiteles image i have on my shrine and it’s one of my favorite things in the Met’s Greco-Roman collection.

maenad-2017-met

Then there is a dancing Maenad with the most awesome Thyrsus ever. 

kharites

And the Kharites, the Three Graces

mature-herakles

and finally, Herakles.

 

(all photos are mine, copyright 2017. Do not use without permission)

Posted on January 10, 2017, in Art, hellenic things, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. The Herakles pic is wonderful.

    Like

  2. Wow! Those are all beautiful. The ancient sculptors were very talented.

    Like

  3. These are excellent pics. Someday I hope To see these personally, it looks like a wonderful experience

    Like

  4. This would be the only reason why I would go to New York City

    Like

