Updates

Just a few minor updates: 

I have a free book give away ending today over at goodreads. It’s for my latest novena book: “Honoring the Mothers.” Head on over there to my author page (just look up my last name.) and check it out. I also have previews of “Devotional Polytheism” and “Sacramentum” that folks can download for free too there. Once you click on my name there, you can even ask me questions about my writing or anything else and I”ll answer. So if you’re curious, check it out. 

The next card in the Mothers series is finished and will shortly be available: Thetis, Mother of Achilles by Grace Palmer. (Kudos to anyone who can tell me what scene in the Iliad Grace has chosen to represent here). If anyone would like to donate toward the costs of this card, please contact me at krasskova at gmail.com. Usual perks apply. The next card up is Leda. 

thetis-painting-2x4

Posted on January 17, 2017, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Wow! That card is powerful and stunning! 🙂

    Like

  2. Oh, very nice! Glad to see Her portrayed (finally!) in a modern context…

    Like

  3. Homer, Iliad 18. 369 & 612 & 19. 2 ff :
    “Thetis of the silver feet came to the house of Hephaistos (Hephaestus) . . . As he was at work . . . the goddess Thetis the silver-footed drew near him. Kharis (Charis) of the shining veil saw her as she came forward . . . She came, and caught her hand and called her by name and spoke to her : ‘Why is it, Thetis of the light robes, you have come to our house now? We honour you and love you; but you have not come much before this. But come in with me so I may put entertainment before you.’
    She spoke, and, shining among divinities, led the way forward and made Thetis sit down in a chair . . . She called to Hephaistos the renowned smith and spoke a word to him : ‘Hephaistos, come this way; here is Thetis, who has need of you.’
    Hearing her the renowned smith of the strong arms answered her : ‘Then there is a goddess we honour and respect in our house. She saved me when I suffered much at the time of my great fall through the will of my own brazen-faced mother, who wanted to hide me for being lame. Then my soul would have taken much suffering had not Eurynome and Thetis caught me and held me . . . With them I worked nine years as a smith . . . working there in the hollow of the cave, and the stream of Okeanos (Oceanus) around us went on forever with its foam and its murmur. No other among the gods or among mortal men knew about us except Eurynome and Thetis. They knew since they saved me. Now she has come into our house; so I must by all means do everything to give recompense to lovely-haired Thetis for my life. Therefore set out before her fair entertainment . . .’
    Moving to where Thetis sat in her shining chair, Hephaistos caught her by the hand and called her by name and spoke a word to her : ‘Why is it, Thetis of the light robes, you have come to our house now? We honour you and love you; but you have not come much before this. Speak forth what is in your mind. My heart is urgent to do it if I can, and if it is a thing that can be accomplished.’
    Then in turn Thetis answered him, letting the tears fall : ‘Hephaistos, is there among all the goddesses on Olympos one who in her heart has endured so many grim sorrows as the griefs Zeus, son of Kronos (Cronus), has given me beyond others? Of all the other sisters of the sea he gave me to a mortal, to Peleus, Aiakos’ (Aeacus’) son, and I had to endure mortal marriage though much against my will. And now he, broken by mournful old age, lies away in his halls. Yet I have other troubles. For since he has given me a son to bear and to raise up . . . Now I come to your knees; so might you be willing to give me for my short-lived son a shield and a helmet and two beautiful greaves fitted with clasps for the ankles and a corselet . . .’
    Hearing her the renowned smith of the strong arms answered her : ‘Do not fear. Let not these things be a thought in you mind. And I wish that I could hide him away from death and its sorrow at that time when his hard fate comes upon him, as surely as there shall be fine armour for him, such as another man out of many men shall wonder at, when he looks on it . . .’
    When the renowned smith of the strong arms had finished the armour he lifted it and laid it before the mother of Akhilleus. And she like a hawk came sweeping down from the snows of Olympos and carried with her the shining armour, the gift of Hephaistos . . .
    Thetis came to the ships and carried with her the gifts of Hephaistos. She found her beloved son lying in the arms of Patroklos (Patroclus) crying shrill, and his companions in their numbers about him mourned. She, shining among divinities, stood there beside them. She clung to her son’s hand and called him by name and spoke to him : ‘My child, now, though we grieve for him, we must let this man lie dead in the wayhe first was killed through the gods’ designing. Accept rather from me the glorious arms of Hephaistos so splendid, and such as no man has ever worn on his shoulders.’
    The goddess spoke so, and set down the armour on the ground before Akhilleus . . . He [Akhilleus] spoke to his mother and addressed her in winged words : ‘My mother . . . I am sadly afraid during this time, for the warlike son of Menoitios that flies might get into the wounds beaten by bronze in his body and breed worms in them, and these make foul the body, seeing that the life is killed in him, and that all his flesh may be rotted.’
    In turn the goddess Thetis the silver-footed answered him : ‘My child, no longer let these things be a care in your mind. I shall endeavour to drive from him the swarming and fierce things, those flies, which feed upon the bodies of men who have perished; and although he lie here till a year has gone to fulfilment, still his body shall be as it was or firmer that ever. Go then and summon into assembly the fighting Akhaians (Achaeans), . . . and arm at once for the fighting, and put your war strength upon you.’
    She spoke so, and drove the strength of great courage into him; and meanwhile through the nostrils of Patroklos she distilled ambrosia and red nectar, so that his flesh might not spoil.”

    Like

  4. 🙂 there it is. and once Achilles accepts that armor, his fate is sealed.

    Like

  5. Bravo Xenophon! 🙂

    Like

