Blood is Thicker Than Mead

For awhile now, a lot of my social circle has given me flack for my friendship with Joe Bloch, some even insisting that I cut ties with him or they would cut ties with me. In the handful of years that I’ve known him, I’ve found him to be reasonable, respectful, a man of virtue and integrity, committed to his Gods and his tradition and though there have been plenty of points on which we disagreed with each other (plenty!!), his character has never been in question and in working through those disagreements, I’ve come to appreciate his perspective and gained immense respect for the lines that he holds. I have never been prouder to call this man a friend than I am today reading his latest post, in which the AFA put pressure on him to leave because they felt his trans daughter would be viewed as ‘bad optics’ for the organization.

It is unconscionable to me that this group would put its political ideology above blood and family, which is the fundamental core of any kind of Heathenry. You want family values, this is what true Heathen family values are like. I think he made absolutely the right choice and I think the AFA is going to see what an incredible asset they have lost in this man, who is a scholar, a devotee of the Gods, and a decent father. He represents the values that our traditions need, especially in such trying times.

So I say to all of you who encouraged me to throw him under the bus, to go fuck yourselves. I will stand by this man no matter what (even when we disagree, which we do plenty and will continue to do plenty but not on this issue, not when it comes to family).

 

 

Posted on February 25, 2017, in community, Heathenry, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Blood is Thicker Than Mead.

Comments are closed.

