4th Submission to the Ares Agon

For Ares
by Amanda Forrester

Ares, the blood-stained Battle-Lord, throws Himself laughing into the fray,
Wherever the fighting is thickest
There the son of Zeus and Hera will be.
Great Ares, once I would have prayed for You to put down Your sword
And join laughter-loving Aphrodite on the couch of love.
Today I have a different prayer, O Lord of soldiers.
I am older now, and less idealistic than I was in my youth
I see the rot at the core of society now
And I pray for the strength to fight it.

You are the inciter of revolution
And the defender of the old order, all at once.
I pray for discernment, that I may see what is worth preserving,
And what needs destroying.
That I can tell when to speak
And when to hold my tongue.

Ares, Lord of Hosts,
Chariot-Rider,
Spear-Wielder,
With my Lady Athena
You drive back the enemies of the Gods
Protecting Olympos from Titans, giants, and all of Gaia’s monsters.

Give me strength to protect me and mine,
The bravery to stand for what is right,
The aim to strike true,
And the wisdom to know what is worth fighting for.

*************

Be sure to check out my other sites:

Wyrd Curiosities at Etsy

My academia.edu page

My amazon author page.

Walking the Worlds Journal

My art blog at Krasskova Creations

My blog about all things strange, weird and medieval.

And if you like what you see, consider becoming a sponsor at Patreon.

Posted on March 13, 2017, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Reblogged this on Temple of Athena the Savior and commented:
    Galina over at Gangleri’s Grove is also running an agon, this one for Ares. Every one who submits gets a prayer card. There is literally no downside to submitting! And Ares is a God Who gets so little attention, please consider trying your hand at something for Him. I’m linking to my poetry submission. Enjoy.

    Liked by 1 person

