Commissioned Prayer: To Hypnos

I’ve been getting quite a few commissions for prayers. The latest was one to the God Hypnos. (If you’re interested in commissioning a piece, please check this page for information). 

Prayer to Hypnos
By G. Krasskova
(Written for S.)

Sweet Hypnos,
most benevolent and gracious God,
please hear my prayer.

Grant me the sweetness of sleep
when I seek my rest.
Help me to still my mind,
my racing thoughts,
to put the tensions
and stress of my body aside.
May Your children:
especially Morpheus,
the Oneiroi, and
Phantasmos
bless my slumber.
May my dreams be fruitful.
May I wake refreshed,
even on those occasions
when Your Son Phobetor visits.

Oh God of poppies,
of pleasure and relaxation,
please grant me Your healing touch.
Smile upon me,
place Your gentle hand upon my brow,
and grant me release from my cares
through the grace of sleep,
which only You may bring.

Hail to You, Hypnos,
Husband of Pasiphae,
Daughter of Dionysos,
Who Himself relieves care,
Hail to You, Beautiful God.

hypnos painting2x4

(Hypnos by Grace Palmer. The prayer card is available here.)

*************

Be sure to check out my other sites:

Wyrd Curiosities at Etsy

My academia.edu page

My amazon author page.

Walking the Worlds Journal

My art blog at Krasskova Creations

My blog about all things strange, weird and medieval.

And if you like what you see, consider becoming a sponsor at Patreon.

Posted on March 28, 2017, in Bacchic Things, hellenic things, prayers, Roman Things, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Commissioned Prayer: To Hypnos.

Comments are closed.

