New submission to the Orpheus Agon

Hymn to Orpheus
by Ian A.

Hail Orpheus,
Singer of songs of the great Theoi
Teacher of the mysteries

Hear my prayer
Guide me on my journey
You who braved the darkness of Hades
Bless my days with song
As you played for the rulers below
Help me not to look back
A lesson you learnt through pain
Give me the courage to face death
Knowing as you taught what lies beyond

Follower of Dionysos
Ripped apart by his maenads
Follower of Apollon
After you saw what lay in Hades
Guide me in my relationship with the gods
And inspire my tounge with praise
That I may sing of their glory

Posted on May 28, 2017, in Bacchic Things, hellenic things, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on New submission to the Orpheus Agon.

Comments are closed.

