Not bad. Not fucking bad at all.

for once, a tv show got something right.

Posted on June 19, 2017, in Odin, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. This was absofuckinglutely the best scene in the series to date. I realize it’s somewhat trite to draw theological conclusions from a television show (one might even say it is worshiping at the altar of Media), but damn tonight’s episode of “American Gods” was powerful and profound.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. ganglerisgrove

    i agree. it encapsulated some very essential truths.

    Like

  3. Thanks to you Galina, I was introduced to Odin. Of all the many gods I’ve had encounters with, He is by far the most impressive (to put it lightly) Deity I’ve ever come across.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. This is all that I’ve seen of the show, apart from the trailers…have wanted to remedy that for a while now, but have not had the opportunity to watch it yet. But, in a few hours, grading will be over…maybe I can see some of it over my break before the next quarter begins in July.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Wow! That was a very powerful scene. It caused the hairs on my arms to stand up. (Haven’t seen American Gods yet. For Canada it’s playing via Amazon not on our regular channels 😦

    Like

  6. ‘…I have as many titles as there are ways for men to die…’

    Oh, yes, He does, doesn’t He?

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Richard Norris

    The God that truly and fully terrifies me, but always makes me laugh when I hear how he’s grabbed up someone and decided they might be useful.

    Like

  8. The touring Vikings museum exhibit, which I recently blogged about, offered a euhemerist (euhemerized?) explanation of Sleipner’s eight legs — that the “horse” was four men carrying a bier or stretcher with a fallen warrior on it.. Not sure I buy that, but it’s interesting to think about.

    Like

  9. I cheered when Odin revealed himself, at last! My husband too was surprised that he was shown in his glory.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Oh yes, I watched that a few times. I was wondering how that was going to happen! Incidentally (or not!), the next weekend I connected with a dear friend and we discovered that we both have been looking to invite Odini more prominently into our lives and we are making plans to work on that together ;0) Hailasa Odin!

    Like

Leave a Reply

