First Submission to the Asklepios Agon

Hurrah! I receive the first submission to Asklepios’ Agon and I am glad. I don’t think our healing Deities get half the attention and veneration They deserve. 🙂

In Gratitude
by Victoria C.

I am not accustomed to Gods being overly kind.
Loving yes, magnificent yes, but kind in a way
that does not sear the heart,
not so much.
I am not accustomed to Gods
Whose touch leaves no lasting mark
except health and healing and peace.
You brought me that, Son of Apollo,
unexpected boon and blessing.
You brought me that and raised me up
and set me back on my feet
and enabled me to live again
instead of just survive.
Yours were the hands
that dredged me out of the darkness
of my depression,
out of the wracking torture of my body’s pain.
‘Thank you’ are such paltry words
with which to repay such a grace.
They are the words that I have though,
and I bring them to You,
with a heart overflowing with joy.
I sing praises of You, Asklepios,
Wisest and most gentle of Healers.
To the Son of Apollo,
I will always pray.

*************

Be sure to check out my other sites:

Wyrd Curiosities at Etsy

My academia.edu page

My amazon author page.

Walking the Worlds Journal

My art blog at Krasskova Creations

My blog about all things strange, weird and medieval.

And if you like what you see, consider becoming a sponsor at Patreon.

Posted on July 4, 2017, in Bacchic Things, hellenic things, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. A very beautiful prayer.

    Like

