I don’t pray enough

This has been something that I’ve been working on for years. I was really, really fortunate, that I had very good devotional models. Prayer was something that was present in my childhood home, and I was taught to pray; moreover, I was taught to pray outside of ritual space. It was never something reserved for special occasions and I’m deeply grateful for that. Lately I’ve found myself reading more on prayer and how to do it more deeply. How deep can one go into the experience of one’s God? I would throw myself into that experience until the point of dissolution and beyond. I know intellectually that it’s regular prayer that paves the way for such rich and richly transformative experiences, but I do so want to run well before I can even crawl in this particular case! How can one be patient? But then again, how can one not? Odin’s very presence lures one into wanting more and doing the contemplative work that is necessary for that “more” to happen. The medieval mystics termed this raptus, the painful pleasure of being seized up by one’s God, transported beyond regular headspace, and given a taste of Divine Presence. Give me more is the prayer I want to make. Thank you is the one that I do actually say. 

My husband spent months this past year going through medieval texts in a plethora of languages from Latin and Greek,  to Old Norse, Old English, Middle High German, to Ukrainian and more. He put together a collection of charms and prayers for me, all drawn from lore, all Odin-centric. Using this, I kind of feel like I’ve crossed a bit of a Rubicon recently and have made improvements. With Odin, I always feel this push to the Work. It’s difficult for me to slow down, enter into contemplation, and deep, deep prayer. Instead of pushing forward into the Work, reaching out for HIs presence and riding that, I’ve had to consciously teach myself to stop, sit, and wrap HIs presence around me like a cloak. I still travel. I still work but it’s the work of self-formation, and paving the path toward better service and comprehension of Him. His presence is such a palpable thing, and it inspires, no matter how hard this process can become, and I think with any Deity it can be very difficult indeed. It is the thing in which we must be uncompromising: committing to the formation of ourselves, our souls by the Gods and for the Gods and getting about our sacred Work accordingly. 

Right now, I have a fairly solid morning routine (though sometimes I do it late morning rather than first thing). I also have a fairly solid evening routine. I”m hoping to fill every other moment of the day with ongoing prayer and contemplation. After all, I very much agree with our monastics: 

About ganglerisgrove

Galina Krasskova has been a Heathen priest since 1995. She holds a Masters in Religious Studies (2009), a Masters in Medieval Studies (2019), has done extensive graduate work in Classics including teaching Latin, Roman History, and Greek and Roman Literature for the better part of a decade, and is currently pursuing a PhD in Theology. She is the managing editor of Walking the Worlds journal and has written over thirty books on Heathenry and Polytheism including "A Modern Guide to Heathenry" and "He is Frenzy: Collected Writings about Odin." In addition to her religious work, she is an accomplished artist who has shown all over the world and she currently runs a prayer card project available at wyrdcuriosities.etsy.com.

Posted on June 19, 2024, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Thank you for sharing and for the encouragement!

    Have you incorporated any kind of quick, regular prayer meant to be done as you go about the day similar to how some Catholics pray the Rosary and some Orthodox the Jesus Prayer? And if so, would you be willing to share what prayer you use?

    Thanks much,

    Jeff

    Liked by 1 person

    • ganglerisgrove

      I have a mantra to Odin that I use regularly throughout the day. It’s not something I can share but I will share one prayer I say regularly:

      Hail to the Gods and Goddesses,

      Your Grace illumines all things.

      Your gifts shine forth making fruitful 9 mighty worlds.

      Blessed are those that serve You.

      Blessed are those that seek You out.

      Holy Powers, Makers of all things,

      bless and protect us in Your mercy.

      Lead us along the twisting pathways of our wyrd,

      and when it is time, guide us safely along the Hel-road.

      ALU.

      I also do have a version of the rosary that I pray, using various Odinic prayers.

      Like

  2. In terms of prayer, I borrow from Christianity’s St. Paul, “Pray always.” How to accomplish this, when I too fall far short? But over recent months I have an understanding that is to BE the prayer. How I conduct myself, my thinking, my reacting versus responding–all of these are inherent in that statement.

    Thank you for your sharing. I love the idea of wrapping yourself in Odin like a cloak. I’m going to utilize that.

    Susan Hintz-Epstein susan.hintz.epstein@gmail.com (518) 989-2018 home • (518) 719-6437 cell

    Liked by 1 person

    • ganglerisgrove

      BE the prayer–what a beautiful way to put it. yes, yes, and yes.

      when it gets really hard, when I’m really struggling, I think about the times where I’ve had the most intense experiences with Odin, or where I gave my “yes” that defined who I’ve become and my whole life and I root myself through my whole sensorium in that experience. I become that “yes” again and thus, as you so beautifully, truly beautifully put it, the prayer.

      Like

Leave a comment