Re. the currently ongoing Rite of Elevation for the Transgender Dead – clarification

There has been quite a bit of questioning and discussion surrounding the currently ongoing Rite of Elevation for the Transgender Dead. Since my work was quoted extensively on the coordinators’ page, and since some of the discussions are being brought to me in various ways, I wanted to take the time to chime in here.

I have been an ancestor worker for over fifteen years. I began back in the early nineties when I was still living in a two bedroom in Astoria with a Lukumi roommate J.B. He and his Lukumi elders were actually instrumental in helping me to further my ancestor practices. He was at the time working with a Brooklyn Lukumi house. He and his teacher explained the rite of elevation to me, and that it was drawn from Espiritismo/spiritism and gave me leave to use and adapt it as I wished for the dead. I have, as you can see, done that.  I was not taught by Laura Patsouris, though we did work together for some time and well, and I wrote the forward to her book “Weaving Memory,” which is an excellent guide to honoring the dead. She is an amazing ancestor worker in her own right.

I would also like to note that I am not the one organizing this mass elevation. I do however, support anything and everything that leads to greater ancestral awareness and respect.

As I noted in my comments here, I find that ancestor work is a really good way to bridge the gap between polytheist and non -polytheist family. I sort of think we’re hard wired to honor our dead, and we all *have* ancestors, and I think people can wrap their minds around the idea of paying respects or praying for them, even if they may not be able to comprehend engaging with them. It’s a good common ground, or potential common ground. Moreover, it needs to be done. Many of our dead are crying out to be heard.

Spiritism, by the way is actually taken from the work of A. Kardec, who was a French teacher who lived from 1804-69. He’s known for his books on spiritism. It’s found it’s way into a number of traditions including the sycretized form of spiritism in Cuba, which is espiritiso. Espiritismo as it’s practiced today is an intact and whole tradition in its own right, but it’s technologies descend from the teachings of A. Kardec who provided a framework and a set of tech. that has been adapted and adopted by many traditions around the world. This is even related to the technology that gives us the classic european seance.

It’s best understood, in my opinion, as 19th century european spiritwork. What he was doing is what led to the 20th century spiritualist movement. There really is nothing new under the sun.

I will also add that while I know folks have been questioning in good faith, and it is right and proper to guard against misappropriation,  I am deeply concerned about attempts to politicize veneration of the dead. At some point or another we need to all get over ourselves and get down to the business of paying homage to our dead, elevating those that need it, and restoring right relationship with our ancestors. by any means necessary. This is a human problem and until we can address it as such, we’re not getting anywhere. There are many other forums to discuss and argue one’s political, social, and economic agendas — and they need to be argued, discussed, and debated, and I think reparations need eventually in some cases to be made, but I will not take one single thing away from the dead in favor of the living ever. I would see the dead be given their due. When that’s done, I believe the rest of it will be easier to sort out.

So while I am not involved in this Rite of Elevation for the Transgender dead, I thoroughly support it as good and holy work.

About ganglerisgrove

Galina Krasskova has been a Heathen priest since 1995. She holds a Masters in Religious Studies (2009), a Masters in Medieval Studies (2019), has done extensive graduate work in Classics including teaching Latin, Roman History, and Greek and Roman Literature for the better part of a decade, and is currently pursuing a PhD in Theology. She is the managing editor of Walking the Worlds journal and has written over thirty books on Heathenry and Polytheism including "A Modern Guide to Heathenry" and "He is Frenzy: Collected Writings about Odin." In addition to her religious work, she is an accomplished artist who has shown all over the world and she currently runs a prayer card project available at wyrdcuriosities.etsy.com.

Posted on November 14, 2014, in Ancestor Work and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. I also want be clear that my post was not written with any ill will against you or the organizers of the rite. It was mostly an open inquiry and request for discussion. The people who are most mislead by my words seem to have not read them carefully in the first place.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That is inevitably the case! @-@

    Like

  3. I’ve also seen a couple of (white) people taking digs at other white people writing books on ancestor practice or engaging in ancestor practice bc you know, we must not have ancestors. It doesn’t seem to register that every polytheism that I know of that’s being restored today had deeply rooted traditions of ancestor veneration for which we are the inheritors. But go on, folks. don’t honor your dead. See where that gets you.

    Caelesti, your blog post was thoughtful, but i’ve seen a lot of others less so, hence my initial post.

    Liked by 3 people

  4. I’m not participating in the rite, but I definitely supporting, following and contributing where I can.
    It’s an insignificant example. But I shared the rite on a facebook group relating to Dionysus that I co-admin. I stated that the trans-dead are part of the retinue of Dionysus. I had two people criticise me because of it. The most vocal said:
    “You’re trying to pervert the myth and bend it to suit your own (fubar) lifestyle or beliefs. I’d call it sad if it wasn’t just pathetic. I suppose it’s both . While you’re at it why don’t you just say Zeus is a tranny radical activist too. Lol. You don’t get to invent nonsense and pass it off as somehow traditional.”

    Good news is, I did some research and pulled up a heap of quotes and basically shut the critics down. Ended up with an overwhelming amount of support from others and teaching outsiders who are not part of our community. So that’s cool.

    Good luck to those involved and many blessings!

    Liked by 2 people

  5. I’m sorry you’ve been getting harassed for our use of your book as the main reference for the structure of the rite. We cited it carefully to ensure we gave credit where due, but perhaps that was foolish.

    Like

  6. Caelesti, would you link to your post, please? I am one of the organizers and I haven’t seen it.

    Like

  7. Alder, blessings to you! I’m honored you quoted my work. people are always going to bitch and whine and complain about something — all the more when good, solid work is being done. It seems to be the way of the world. You have NOTHING for which to apologize.

    Like

  8. Well, I hope the people claiming that folks of European descent should not be honoring ancestors at all are not pagans or polytheists. That is a very strange and disturbing attitude to have, that shows how ignorant people are of their own cultures. While it may not be as commonplace as in say, Japan, honoring the dead is still a part of American, British & Canadian culture- bringing flowers and even food to grave sites is something people of various faiths do that we can continue to encourage. However I sometimes encounter in the leftist/social justice nooks of the Internet (or in “meatspace”) an unspoken attitude that if white people are not Christian or Jewish, they should be atheists (or at least act is if religion didn’t matter!) That’s what I am sensing here.

    Liked by 1 person

  1. Pingback: Transgender Remembrance Rituals | The Lefthander's Path