Terrible bragging about a birthday gift lol

So, awhile back I mentioned that my husband did months of research and created a collection of Heathen charms and prayers for me. After he gave it to me for my birthday (and it was like being courted all over again; ^___^ though the man now knows more about Heathen lore than I do. Yesterday I was complaining that in the cultivation of virtue I’m my own worst enemy and he quotes the “Havamal” at me…in Old Norse. lol), I chose some art and a friend formatted it and I had some personal copies printed. This will never be available for sale. The art is for my personal devotional use only. The book is for my own use only but I can’t help but share my new Zauberbuch. It is…you know, I don’t have words for how incredibly moved, awed, and absolutely delighted I am by this. Look. it is awesome. ^_^

About ganglerisgrove

Galina Krasskova has been a Heathen priest since 1995. She holds a Masters in Religious Studies (2009), a Masters in Medieval Studies (2019), has done extensive graduate work in Classics including teaching Latin, Roman History, and Greek and Roman Literature for the better part of a decade, and is currently pursuing a PhD in Theology. She is the managing editor of Walking the Worlds journal and has written over thirty books on Heathenry and Polytheism including "A Modern Guide to Heathenry" and "He is Frenzy: Collected Writings about Odin." In addition to her religious work, she is an accomplished artist who has shown all over the world and she currently runs a prayer card project available at wyrdcuriosities.etsy.com.

Posted on April 24, 2024, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. That painting on the cover certainly is! Awesome! Susan Hintz-Epstein susan.hintz.epstein@gmail.com (518) 989-2018 home • (518) 719-6437 cell

    Liked by 1 person

    • ganglerisgrove

      It is. I don’t know who the artist is, but he or she is amazingly good. I keep a file of “favorite Deity images’ just to look at sometimes and meditate on and this is one of my favorites of Odin. I am thankful that this artist exists. The only reason I used it here is that this is not a commercial use. Let me see if I can find out who it is.

      Like

  2. ganglerisgrove

    I tried to find it but can’t make sense of google’s art search.

    Like

    • tineye has a reverse image search I find easier to use.

      So jealous!

      Liked by 1 person

      • ganglerisgrove

        I’ll have to give that site a try. google makes it very difficult to find the original artist. thanks!

        and yes…it’s an amazing collection. it’s a full magical and prayer system for our tradition. I knew in advance what he was working on, when he sequestered himself day after day, but I had no idea how potent the final result would be. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • I’ve been slowly collecting amulet inscriptions anx charms as thry have invocations & prayer requests usually. but I don’t have too many yet, Sannion sounds like he’s done all that work

        Like

  3. That is one amazing present!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. That is an awesome picture of Odin. It begs the question though: whose eye is that?

    As we all know, Odin sacrificed His eye to drink from Mimir’s well. Does this mean that one of His ravens dived into the water to get it back? That kinda seems like cheating. I think there’s only two possibilities left: it’s Odin’s eye and this is a painting of the exact moment before the sacrifice of His eye is complete by having the eye be thrown into the well or that this is an eye of an enemy that Odin killed.

    I think it’s cooler to imagine that this is Odin mid sacrifice (sacrif-eye-ce?) and that it is an image of Odin essentially in the middle of grasping for wisdom. Very Odinic.

    Hail Odin! And hail Freyja, Frigga, Aphrodite, Eros, and Hera for maintaining your marriage with thoughtful acts of love!

    Liked by 1 person

    • ganglerisgrove

      don’t over think it. it’s an artist’s rendition of Odin. seriously, don’t overthink it. sometimes art is just that art, and a doorway to the divine.

      Like

  5. What an incredibly beautiful gift. Happy belated birthday.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww!

    That Sannion.

    🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. What a treasure! Truly a labor and gift of love!

    Liked by 1 person