My Ideal Education

Ok, so I posted this meme on Facebook and it’s getting a lot of play.

I thought I’d take the time to talk about what I consider my perfect educational model. Right now, in our current society, I favor homeschooling. I think it’s the only way to avoid indoctrination of one’s child, to instill virtue, piety, discipline, and also to provide the framework of a good, solid education. There are a ton of ways to do homeschooling: it can be a single family, or families can coordinate to have little pods of kids learning together. I would almost always choose homeschooling right now over any other educational method. If I had to create my own K-12 curriculum however – let’s do a thought experiment: let’s imagine we can do this for a newly formed school – this is what I’d do. 

Firstly, home-ec and civics would be taught in every single grade (age appropriately). Home-ec would involve learning how to cook, sew, mend, budget, change a tire, basic home repair, how to shop on a budget, maintain a home, how to understand taxes, insurance, personal finance/investing, and things like compound interest (my god-daughter understood this at five). Civics is self-explanatory: it is a privilege to live in any community and young people should be raised with a sense of their responsibilities to that community. What does it mean to be a good citizen? We talk a lot about our rights, but not so much about our responsibilities. Part of civics is learning how our country was founded, why, and how our government works. 

From K-12 I’d also have self-defense and shooting skills taught. (Think I’m crazy? Through the 50s, there were shooting clubs at school and kids routinely brought their guns. What changed? Not the guns but the society and its psychological lack of care for its people). There would be art and music classes, serious classes with each child learning at least one instrument as well. Art includes what we might term crafts, textile work, pottery, etc. in addition to art history, painting and drawing and each child would be expected to choose a craft upon which to focus, in addition to learning to draw and paint. Not everyone is going to be a Van Gogh, but the practice enriches their world and teaches them to appreciate art, you know, that thing that elevates our souls to the Gods. I would also start teaching them chess in kindergarten to hone their minds in strategy and critical thinking. 

Also, from K-12, there would, of course, be classes in History, Mathematics, Sciences, Computers and coding, English – grammar and literature, creative writing, rhetoric (including how to judge sources for their bias or legitimacy, i.e. media savvy and critical thinking, also public speaking). In Kindergarten, I’d teach ASL. In first grade kids would start learning Latin and this would continue through graduation. In second grade, children would learn penmanship, cursive, and calligraphy – decent handwriting, the maintenance of which would be rolled into the rest of the curriculum. In this grade, a modern foreign language would be added (the kids can choose). In seventh grade, they take up ancient Greek; and in ninth grade, a second foreign language (again, the kids can choose). 

Throughout K-12, there would also theology classes. How to read theologically. How to understand our cosmological stories, how to develop virtue and ethics. There would be religion classes focusing on polytheisms and how to cultivate devotion and piety, what to do in ritual, our sacred stories, etc. because this is my school, and I can do that. This would include participatory age-appropriate rites and pageants and such to make ritual engaging for them when small. In grades 9-12, children will volunteer at a local temple or with a local spiritual technician, but they can also take courses in comparative religions, ritual studies, ethics, etc.. I’d require yearly community service from Kindergarten, even if it’s something like cleaning up a park or visiting a nursing home. They need to be invested in where they live. 

I’d do 4H things. Kids would have a community garden, bee hives, and a small selection of live-stock (chickens, goats) and they would learn to garden, and to tend and care for these animals and plants. As part of home-ec, they’d be learning food preservation as well. All of this can be made fun for the very youngest grades.

What would you add?

About ganglerisgrove

Galina Krasskova has been a Heathen priest since 1995. She holds a Masters in Religious Studies (2009), a Masters in Medieval Studies (2019), has done extensive graduate work in Classics including teaching Latin, Roman History, and Greek and Roman Literature for the better part of a decade, and is currently pursuing a PhD in Theology. She is the managing editor of Walking the Worlds journal and has written over thirty books on Heathenry and Polytheism including "A Modern Guide to Heathenry" and "He is Frenzy: Collected Writings about Odin." In addition to her religious work, she is an accomplished artist who has shown all over the world and she currently runs a prayer card project available at wyrdcuriosities.etsy.com.

Posted on April 28, 2024, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 19 Comments.

  1. scoobydoo20902

    I would add emotional regulation/mindfulness/emotional first aid/psychology at every level.

    Liked by 2 people

    • ganglerisgrove

      WordPress is getting strange in how it allows direct responses. *sigh*. I’ll repeat my response to your comment:

      “I was thinking about that and thinking I’d roll it into their religious studies (grounding, centering, mindfulness). I like though including Health: first aid, psychology, emotional regulation, survival skills….it’d be a useful for life health class. thanks for the suggestion!”

      sorry I first apparently responded to myself lol

      Liked by 2 people

  2. ganglerisgrove

    Oh, and part of home-ec, would be learning proper manners and etiquette.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Emmy Lou (King) Hawkins

    If I had been home schooled, there is no way I would have survived childhood sane. Some parents are simply not equipped to home school their children. Actually some parents are not equipped to be parents but that’s another story. 
    Our public school system is essential for our democracy. It is the only institution (other than the military) where people are put together with people from different backgrounds and ethnicities. It’s the great melting pot.
    So, the solution is not to home school children. The solution is to repair our broken educational system. 
    90% of Denver HS graduates who attend community colleges need remedial classes before they can handle community college classes. I’ve taught those community college classes and frankly, the standard is appallingly low. What does this say when a Denver Public High School graduate can’t handle those simple CC courses?
    Social passing is atrocious. If a child doesn’t read and do simple arithmetic by third grade, that child will almost certainly never catch up with his or her peers. Yes, its emotionally hard to hold a child back from passing to the next grade but no where near as emotionally hard as it is for that child to reach HS without being able to read or do simple sums.
    NO ONE should graduate HS without meeting basic skill levels of literacy and general competency in math. Would the lack of a HS diploma hold that person back in life? Of course but not merely as much as not being able to read or do sums.
    Would learning Latin and Greek be wonderful? Clearly but not as wonderful as knowing basic simple skills.
    There are charter schools in Denver that provide first class education to their students. There are inner city parents who will work three jobs to send their children to those schools. There are almost no discipline problems in those schools. All you need to do to get a difficult student in line is to tell that student you will call their parent and let the parent handle the situation. Trust me, it puts the fear of God into them.
    So, no home schooling is IMO a terrible solution. I could go on and on but I haven’t had coffee yet this AM so I’m off to the kitchen.

    Liked by 1 person

    • ganglerisgrove

      While I agree that not every parent can homeschool, I don’t think the public school system is good for our democracy. Yeah, it’s the great equalizer, dumbing everyone down to the lowest common denominator. instead of cultivating excellence, we settle at best for mediocrity. public schools were created as a stop gap for those who couldn’t homeschool or afford private school and they were specifically designed to churn out factory workers. it’s only gotten worse.

      I do agree that no child should graduate without basic literacy skills and math skills. it’s really not that hard. 

      Liked by 1 person

      • “It’s really not that hard”

        Maybe for you or me, but for some, it’s extremely hard.

         My late husband had an undiagnosed learning disability. Reading and writing was always difficult for him. His HS guidance counselor told him he was too stupid to go to college so he’d best learn a trade. His brilliant mother quit working for the family business, got a job and used the money to buy flying lessons for him. By the time he was 23, he had all pertinent ratings and was running a flight school. He never did learn to read particularly well although he was able to diligently plow through one of Doris Kearns Goodwin’s books about Lincoln. Not everyone is cut out to study Latin.

        Many people have compared the European/British system to ours. They focus on the best and brightest while those less bright get short shrift or are sent off to learn a trade. Actually, learning a trade isn’t all that bad but still, the British system is very elitist. What you’re suggesting is rather elitist.

        Does our system dumb things down? Yes, probably but it also serves the vast majority better than the British system which focuses on the best and leaves the rest to shift for themselves.

        It’s a choice. We have the public school system in the first place because of those bloody Puritans who thought you had to get yourself to heaven by reading the Bible for yourself. That of necessity involved being able to read. So they insisted on schools…for everyone. Even for women!!! Gasp!
         It has been estimated that 95% of the adult population of the American colonies were literate at the time of the American revolution. The Founding Fathers felt that being able to read was necessary for a person to be a responsible citizen. Much like the Puritans, they thought you had to read in order to vote responsibly. (I have no doubt they are rolling in their graves at the education level of the current electorate.)

        I hope I don’t sound to truculent. It’s 30 degrees here and its been snowing hard since yesterday.

        I agree with you whole heartedly that our educational system is broken. This has dire consequences for many things, among these how we vote and choose candidates for public office. Lauren Boebert is a congresswoman from Colorado now running for reelection. Boebert makes Marjorie Taylor Green look like a rocket scientist. Boebert has taken and failed the GED exam four times.
         God yes, voters need to know how to read…English would be good for a start. 

        Like

      • ganglerisgrove

        I was diagnosed with dyscalculia in first grade but American schools at the time did nothing to offer extra tutoring or help. So the math would be very, very hard for me. To this day, I can barely do elementary school math and I have two MA degrees, am currently ABD and working on that Ph.D. When I say we should cultivate and expect excellence, that’s for every student up to his or her limit and that means doing our part as teachers to ensure that the kids with learning disabilities, or who are struggling have the extra help they need. I”M not talking about letting them free range confused. (and I think to some degree a curriculum should be flexible. I can’t do higher math. I never will be able to be. But what can be substituted that I CAN do. There needs to be flexibility).

        that’s horrifying about Boebert.

        I don’t think there’s anything wrong with trade school — in fact, I wish we had more of a European model: trade schools and/or apprenticeships for various fields where that would be logical. many of the trades are essential for a functioning society and not only require hard work, but good common sense, reasoning and intelligence. I don’t in any way want to dumb down the trades. In fact, I think we need more positive emphasis on them.

        What I find interesting about literacy in the early Americas (and we see this in Europe as well): that 95% could read, but it’s not a given that they could write. The two skills were taught separately. I find that strange, interesting but strange.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Well, think about it. Picture Wollstonecraft laboring in front of a fireplace with a quill pen. All those poor geese sacrificing their feathers.
        Have you ever seen a physical copy of the Jesuit Relations? In book form, they occupy almost a full library wall. ALL those were written with a quill pen. Or John Calvin…a very prolific writer…with a quill pen. I don’t know that I could do it.
        I remember this story I read in school about a young colonial girl who lost a needle going over to her aunt’s house. You’d better believe she got down on her knees to find that thing. A sewing needles was valuable…and expensive.
        So, manufactured items were rare. Paper was probably pricey…ink as well. And writing with a quill? Yikes. So, it sort of makes sense that they could read but not necessarily write.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. ganglerisgrove

    I’d also support making our public schools better but until politics is taken out of that, until we actually as a country WANT to invest in education, that’s not going to happen.

    Like

  5. ganglerisgrove

    And by “it’s really not that hard,” I mean not for the student, but for the school administrators to make sure that education actually happens. The weight of that is on the teachers, the administrators, NOT the student (though they have to do their part too, the highest responsibility is on the school itself).

    Liked by 2 people

  6. ganglerisgrove

    And I don’t get what this is about comparing trade schools to universities. We need BOTH. Trade school is not second best. I would be tremendously proud of a child who excelled at trade school. We need those tradesmen and women. desperately. They sustain society. Kid wants to be a plumber: hell yeah. Mechanic: yes, please. Trade schools are not the option for kids who can’t cut it in academic tracks. It’s every bit as fundamental, difficult, and equal to the highest academic – track learning program. You don’t go into trade school because you struggle with literacy, you go because those trades are valuable and interesting, and demand focus and hard work and you want to do that for the rest of your life. That is, btw, the European model.

    Liked by 2 people

  7. I really hope I have kids one day so you can help me teach them.

    Like

  8. I’d add Pythagorean math and an understanding of harmonic vibration. Could be taught in music along with the Octave.

    Reverence not only for the Gods, but for the natural world, and add a holy day for Earth home. We could add reverence for those modern conveniences we take for granted, like electricity, running water, and the like. Understanding one’s self and one’s emotional and mental state in relationship to the world and those we are in contact with.

    Susan Hintz-Epstein susan.hintz.epstein@gmail.com (518) 989-2018 home • (518) 719-6437 cell

    Like

    • ganglerisgrove

      A lot of these things can be taught organically across subjects. For instance, I’m using math when I cook and gardening/animal care can fit easily into science classes. I teach theology now and I incorporate an awful lot of history in my lectures. Nothing is an island all its own lol.

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Philosophy, Rhetoric, and Logic courses should be mandatory. So many people today are easily manipulated into believing all sorts of nonsense like conspiracy theories or tricked into throwing all their money at whatever the politicians are promising to do for them because they don’t understand how to evaluate information.

    Liked by 2 people

  10. This is a fun thought experiment. I had plans to homeschool my kids before I realized I wanted to be childfree.

    I agree with a lot of this, but I had planned to tailor my hypothetical kids’ homeschool to what the Gods had planned for their life purpose. My plan had been to do divination throughout pregnancy and after the kid was born to figure out which deities were connected to the kid and what life purpose was going to unfold for the kid.

    And then plan the curriculum around that. So they wouldn’t learn a bunch of stuff unless it served their role in the world and their relationship with their patron deity.

    Kinda relieved I found out I wanted to be childfree after all, because I think raising a child in service to Divinity would be fucking hard!

    However, I DID decide to adapt my original homeschool plans for my own inner child healing process. I’m now going to re-educate my inner child in a kind of spiritual homeschool and I’m much happier re-learning everything this way :)

    Like

  11. A real physical education would be wonderful too. Not the glorification of sports over everything else, but teaching people how to harness the power of their bodies properly and to enjoy physical activity. This could be dance, martial arts, swimming, hiking, etc. Sound mind in a sound body and all that!

    Like

    • ganglerisgrove

      I agree. you’ll notice I put martial arts and shooting in the curriculum. I always thought gym was useless. Do a real sport, learn a life skill, etc. healthy body = healthy mind. 🙂

      Like