Commissioned Prayer to Hestia

As part of my fundraising to bring my assistant along to Poland and the Czech Republic this July (where I’ll be visiting ossuaries, skull chapels, and doing a shit-ton of ancestor work), I am taking commissions for prayers. (It sometimes takes me awhile. I still have one to Fionn MacCumhaill outstanding. It’s taking me awhile to get a sense of Him, and to find my way into a purposeful prayer). The following is a prayer to Hestia that I wrote for Sparrow, who suggested that I share it here as well. (Thank you, Sparrow!). For anyone interested in commissioning a prayer, contact me at krasskova at gmail.com.

hestia_mattm

Prayer to Hestia for Sparrow
by G. Krasskova
I give homage to the Goddess of the hearth.
I will praise Her name so long as the heat of my heart
moves blood through my veins,
so long as the fire of my mind
turns that heart to devotion,
I will praise Her.
So long as my limbs are blessed
with the warmth of life
I will praise this Goddess,
She who renders every home a sanctuary,
and every fire sacred.

Hear now, these words, oh Gracious One:

You, Hestia,
Daughter of Time and the mighty Cosmos
are the fulcrum of order
around which my life revolves,
You Who are present
in the body of every altar, every shrine,
Whose power sustains
all acts of offering,
every sacred rite,
and our traditions,
daily will I praise You.

You, full of blessings,
Who brings wholeness
to every household
every polis,
every heart
where your cultus is maintained,
help me to be worthy of Your gifts.
Keep me clean, oh Goddess,
that I may ever approach You
and all things holy,
rightly and well.
Please hear my prayer
and bestow Your grace upon me,
that my devotions may be pleasing to You,
ever and always.

Hestia, first and last,
I praise You.

(image: prayer card for Hestia by M.L.)

About ganglerisgrove

Galina Krasskova has been a Heathen priest since 1995. She holds a Masters in Religious Studies (2009), a Masters in Medieval Studies (2019), has done extensive graduate work in Classics including teaching Latin, Roman History, and Greek and Roman Literature for the better part of a decade, and is currently pursuing a PhD in Theology. She is the managing editor of Walking the Worlds journal and has written over thirty books on Heathenry and Polytheism including "A Modern Guide to Heathenry" and "He is Frenzy: Collected Writings about Odin." In addition to her religious work, she is an accomplished artist who has shown all over the world and she currently runs a prayer card project available at wyrdcuriosities.etsy.com.

Posted on June 21, 2015, in fundraising and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Very nice!

    Remember with Finn/Fionn: his surname is “mac Cuhmaill”; with a space between the two words, and the “m” in “mac” should not be capitalized, because it is a patronymic, and outside of Modern Irish personal names, they are not capitalized (unless they are epithets, as is the case with Manannán Mac Lir, since there is no such figure called “Lir” who is “The Sea,” but instead it is an epithet; whereas there is a Cumhaill who was the father of Finn/Fionn). It’s good to know these linguistic customs with the Irish in particular, because they do count off for grammar mistakes, quite literally, in the form of one’s honor price when it comes to getting praise poetry wrong.

    Like

  2. Thank you very much for posting this prayer–and Sparrow, thank you for commissioning it!

    Like